Pipe Up! On Wedding Cupcakes

The rumors you’ve heard? They are true.

I have been hired to “do” the cupcakes for a wedding in June. Above is the test version of a secret flavor combination. It is a horrible frosting job. (David and Becca–If you read this, I promise that the frosting your cupcakes won’t look like that for the wedding.)

This job is really exciting for two reasons:

#1 The couple who is getting married are both designers, so they are super creative and trendy. You can check out the wedding website they designed for themselves here. They basically just said, “We like your style, here are our thoughts–do what you want.” This means I get a lot of creative license for the cakes. Score. I am thinking I will do some really interesting flavor combinations.

#2 I got hired to do something. I got hired to do baking. I love baking. I charge myself to do it every other day. I get to be compensated for having fun! I’ve come such a long way from making my sisters pay me a quarter to bring their dishes upstairs…

Side story: I met the male half of this couple in a park near my house last year. I was on my way to a job interview at The Soap Factory, an art gallery near my apartment. I was a bit early and dressed to the nines, so I was trying to stay clean and doing the mn daily crossword. So I see this guy sitting on a little knoll (only word for it), wearing a pink button-down, and strumming away on a guitar. And I thought to myself, “Huh. There is a guy in a pink button-down, singing over there.”

Then, he came over and asked if he could sit on the bench next to mine. (The knoll was getting uncomfortable.) So I said he might, and then I thought, “Huh. How often do you meet people in the park? I should tell him about Jesus.” So we started talking about something or another and as it turns out, he is a pastor at Mill City Church here in Minneapolis.

Half of me was glad that he is already going to heaven, but the slightly larger half of me was glad that I got to skip out of explaining the Gospel coherently. It’s difficult for me to speak about something so dear to me sometimes due to lack of practice/fear/what have you. (I know. I’ve got to get better at that too.)

Anyway, we parted ways after that and never really spoke again until March. When he asked me to do the cupcakes for their wedding…right?!

So you see, dear friends, I have received the benefit of listening to the “promptings of the Spirit.” Just kidding–God doesn’t do prosperity Gospel. But the  next time I meet a random stranger in the park and I feel like I should share about how Jesus changed my life, do you think I won’t? Well, I will.

This is where you come in: I have some flavor ideas from the couple, but I want to utilize our collective mind power and come up with some really jamming ideas that I can test out over the next couple of weeks.

What do you think would taste good? What are some unique flavor ideas? Who will you call when you are looking up starving artists to do your wedding cake if this goes over well?

Let me know in the comments section.

Freakin’ out in a good way,

L

5 Responses to “Pipe Up! On Wedding Cupcakes”


  1. 1 hollysax April 6, 2011 at 9:08 am

    This sounds like so much fun. I am a fan of almond. It seems so light and happy. Lemon & raspberry are exciting too.

  2. 2 Lisa Erickson April 6, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Hey Miss Lauren..love to help you out…its what i do for living. Call me. Chrissy has my number…possible she forgot though..miss her…

  3. 3 Jesse April 6, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Peanut butter and banana? Blueberry vanilla? Mangosomethingorother? Coffee and mint? Plum and coconut? (don’t try that last one).

    I’m sure they will all be eye-dazzling and your snozzberries will taste like snozzberries. Why? Because you are amazing.

  4. 4 Lauren April 6, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    Hey thanks, Lisa! :] Your blog is so great! Such interesting recipes.


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #46: To Be Super Chill Like My Fictional Antithesis « piping dreams Trackback on July 19, 2011 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


