Pipe Dream #6: To Make The Perfect Snickerdoodle – Snickerdoodle Muffins

Snickerdoodles used to be my favorite cookie. I was first exposed to them in my middle school. They were flat and huge and cinnamon-y. I used to sit and savor every bite with, um, my eyes closed. And don’t even judge me right now–that was middle school. That was then–I was an overdramatic kid with a soul connection to cookies. Oh wait, that’s still me…

Anyway, eventually the cookie was discontinued at school, probably because they were too high in sugar or something. But I got my fix working at camp, where they have a totally jamming version of a snickerdoodle. More fluffy than my previous love, but with a delightfully crispy outside that makes my mouth water just thinking about it. P.S. I love camp. This is how it looks in my mind’s eye.

Snickerdoodles might still be my favorite cookie, except that I just decided right now that I have no favorite cookie.There are too many good ones. I will decide tomorrow. Maybe.

In lieu of having discovered a suitable substitute for other Snickerdoodles I have known, I only made them a couple of times. I can only bear to eat a bad cookie so many times before I decide to let other people do them justice.

So basically, I’m really sorry I have no recipe for you, but I came across these “muffins” the other day and had to try them. Essentially, they are just a frosting-less cupcake. Please leave me a comment if you really care about that. :]

Here ye be,

L

Snickerdoodle Muffins

Adapted from Tasty Kitchen

For the muffins:

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 whole eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2-¼ cups flour
¾ teaspoons baking powder
¾ teaspoons baking soda
¾ teaspoons cream of tartar
½ teaspoons salt
1 cup sour cream
¼ cups buttermilk

For the topping:

⅔ cups sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350ºF, and prepare a muffin tin with liners (they’re pretty fragile).

In a mixer, combine the butter and sugar and cream until fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla and combine.

In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add half of the dry ingredients to the mixing bowl and stir to combine. Add the sour cream and buttermilk and mix to combine. Add the rest of the dry ingredients and mix until you have a smooth batter.

In a small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon for the topping. Using a scooper, plop a scoop of batter into the bowl with the sugar and cinnamon. Gently roll the batter in the sugar and cinnamon. Place the ball into the muffin liner.

When you have completed all of the muffins, sprinkle the leftover cinnamon sugar onto the tops of all of the muffins. Bake at 350ºF for about 15-18 minutes or until they are golden on top and just baked through.

5 Responses to “Pipe Dream #6: To Make The Perfect Snickerdoodle – Snickerdoodle Muffins”


  1. 1 Bert Tisher April 11, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    Snickerdoodle?
    Tim Horton’s has a delicious molasses-ginger cookie of which I am fond. They won’t give me their recipe.

  2. 2 Amby November 2, 2011 at 9:10 am

    I remember your obsession with SD cookies in middle school … your face. Priceless.


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #6, Revisited Again: To Make The Perfect Snickerdoodle – Snickerdoodle Cookies « piping dreams Trackback on October 31, 2011 at 9:07 am
  2. 2 FAKE FAB Snickerdoodle Cookie Bars | piping dreams Trackback on February 5, 2014 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


