Pipe Dream #9: To Try All 10,000 Chex Mix Flavors – Lemon Puppy Chow

I’m not going to pretend I’m too good for puppy chow. Just because I make ganache-covered cheesecakes and cupcakes with flavorful frosting does not mean that I am going to stand here and tell you that puppy chow is for amateurs (I am one.) And besides, has other things going for it besides its classic roots and addictive crunch.

Puppy Chow is a powerful tool in the Midwest. People at parties flock to puppy chow like vultures to a carcass, circling round and round, intent on finding the ever-elusive “double.”

I have been to social events where the atmosphere would probably have been ruined by people transfixed by the puppy chow bowl. Luckily, I am able to save these situations in most cases by distracting everyone with my boss dance moves and witty dialogue.

Do you believe me?

Ok good, me neither. But still, puppy chow is the real deal. And super easy to make. Just beware of the social repercussions of sharing it.

All you do is nuke chocolate, butter and peanut butter, pour it over Chex cereal (or generic brand, it’s cool), plant your feet, and shakeshakeshake it like a Polaroid picture.

Ahem. Again we witness the social repercussions of puppy chow.

(Sidenote: I believe the official name of puppy chow is “Chex Muddy Buddies,” to which I say, “Whatever, Chex, I go with what I know. In this case, “puppy chow.” Just to clear up any confusion about the naming of things. By the way, have you heard of Andrew Bird? That rhymed. He is exceptionally talented.)

One day when I was looking up the recipe for regular puppy chow online, I came across Chex’s goldmine website of Chex Mix recipes. I guess they felt they should run with a good idea. Anyway, I perused for a little while and decided I couldn’t live my entire life without trying some of the more interestingly named flavors like:

Chex Moroccan Crunch (Seriously, how do you make something taste like Morocco? Like dust? That is all my uncultured mind can imagine. Forgive me for being ignorant about Mideastern culture and geography; it is one of my many failings.)

Lemon Rosemary Chex Mix

Party Hardy Chex Mix

and my personal favorite,

White Candy Fantasy Clusters (What the heck? Who comes up with these?)

I recently tried the recipe for Chex Lemon Buddies. I nicked my fingers with a microplaner. The chow was pretty decent and quite lemony, though due to long years of exclusive exposure to the original recipe, I feel that my loyalty still lies with the classic peanut butter and chocolate combo. So I gave the rest of it to my neighbors on the corner.

9,998 left to go,

L

Lemon Puppy Chow

Adapted from Chex.com

9 cups Rice Chex® cereal

1 1/4 cups white vanilla baking chips

1/4 cup butter or margarine

4 teaspoons grated lemon peel

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 cups powdered sugar

In a large bowl, measure cereal; set aside.

In a 1-quart microwavable bowl, microwave chips, butter, lemon peel and juice uncovered on High for one minute. Stir. Microwave 30 seconds longer or until mixture can be stirred smooth. Pour mixture over cereal, stirring evenly until coated. Pour into 2-gallon Ziploc, or a bowl with a lid, like moi.

Add the powdered sugar. Seal bag, and shake until well coated. Spread on wax paper or foil to cool. Store in an airtight container.

8 Responses to “Pipe Dream #9: To Try All 10,000 Chex Mix Flavors – Lemon Puppy Chow”


  1. 1 Carmen April 18, 2011 at 9:26 am

    How could you leave out my favorite – Original Chex Mix made at home with tons of Worcestershire sauce? Heaven!

  2. 2 Jordan Noblitt April 18, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    You know I love me some lemon :) I wanna try this stuff.

  3. 3 investment May 2, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Such a great snack!

  4. 4 daniel moran April 10, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    It’s very trouble-free to find out any topic on net as compared to textbooks, as I found this article at this web site.

  5. 5 ココマイスター January 28, 2017 at 8:51 pm

    おはよう。僕はおしゃれが生きがいで、最近は毎日ファッション誌を読んでいます。今欲しいのは、財布とリュックです。財布は人気のブランドではなく、素材重視で見つけたいです。ブランドならプラダやサンローランが有名ですが、僕はココマイスターとか値段の割にはおすすめです。今度の給料日に買ってみようかな。革は豚革がいいですね。変わったものではワニ革(クロコダイル)の財布も独自で面白そうですね。バッグは僕は、もう大人なので年齢に見合ったクラッチバッグも視野に入れています。大きくて使いやすいバッグが好みです。男性ならポーターも良さそうな会社ではないでしょうか。このような長財布とオシャレなバッグとかを持ってオシャレな街に遊びに行きたいです。


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #29: To Recreate Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies – Decent Chocolate Chip Cookies « piping dreams Trackback on June 1, 2011 at 8:09 am
  2. 2 Pipe Dream #141: To Stop Swooning, Craving, Caving – Lemon Bars « piping dreams Trackback on October 3, 2012 at 9:03 am
  3. 3 Pipe Dream #206: To Be a Mere Vessel – Puppy Chow Bars | piping dreams Trackback on July 22, 2013 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


