Pipe Dream #11: To Be A Good Steward – Clementine Cake

I’m not as eco-conscious as I would like to believe. I live in America, for one thing. And I don’t flip out if I forget to recycle my egg cartons, for another. But I do try, sometimes. Like with this cake, for example. It is my concession to the “green trend.”

This cake is super interesting because it uses whole clementines. You boil ’em for a couple hours before pureeing them mixing them with ground almonds as a base. Please forgive the following over-saturated picture from my old camera…

Making this cake made me feel like I was a Native American using ev-er-y part of the mammoth I had just killed. Except I didn’t kill a mammoth. And I didn’t build a house out of the cake I made. I ate it for breakfast.

Clementines are not in season anymore, I don’t think. But! blueberries are. And they are part of this recipe in a small way. Hope that’s all right. You can save this up ’til next Christmas. It’s permalinked.

Happy breakfasting,

L

P.S. It’s Easter in a few days. I didn’t make anything in advance like all the cool bloggers who have themed or traditional recipes for you to make before holidays. Ummm sorry.

Good Steward Clementine Cake

Adapted from Nigella Lawson

4 to 5 clementines (slightly less than 1 pound total weight)
6 eggs
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
2 1/3 cups ground almonds
1 heaping teaspoon baking powder

Put the clementines in a pot with cold water to cover, bring to the boil, and cook for 2 hours. Drain. When cool, cut each clementine in half and remove the seeds. Then finely chop the skins, pith, and fruit in the processor or by hand (I processed them.)

Preheat the oven to 375°F (190°C).

Butter and line an 8-inch springform pan with parchment paper. (I used two 9 inch cake pans instead. It worked fine. I think I used more than five clementines, which is probably why I had so much batter.)

Beat the eggs. Add the sugar, almonds, and baking powder. Mix well, adding the chopped clementines.

Pour the cake mixture into the prepared pan and bake for 30 to 50 minutes (keep checking, it depends on your pan), when a skewer will come out clean; you might have to cover the cake with foil after about 20 to 30 minutes to stop the top from over-browning.

Remove from the oven and leave to cool, in the pan on a rack. When the cake is cold, you can take it out of the pan and dust it with powdered sugar or make a glaze. Top with whatever fruit you have on hand. Or not. Or maybe whipped cream? Do what you like.

5 Responses to “Pipe Dream #11: To Be A Good Steward – Clementine Cake”


  1. 1 bep April 21, 2011 at 11:57 am

    What a fascinating recipe, Lo! Your posts always leave me feeling hungry and happy. You’re so witty and delightful. Your pictures are beautiful!
    Looking forward to Easter with the family,
    Love,
    Beppie

  2. 2 investment May 2, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Great recipe and pictures!


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #40: To Use Up Leftovers « piping dreams Trackback on July 6, 2011 at 8:18 am
  2. 2 Merry Christmas! Cinnamon Roll Pound Cake + Recipe Ideas | piping dreams Trackback on December 18, 2013 at 9:01 am
  3. 3 Pipe Dream #71: To Be More Exotic Than 4500 Miles Away From Home, Revisited – Flourless Orange Saffron Cake | piping dreams Trackback on June 9, 2014 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


