Pipe Dream #20: To Make a Wedding Cake

Here it is! The “wedding cake!” The fruit of my amateur labor!

And there is the beautiful couple. Jackie had the wonderful idea for the topper–super classy and cute. Seriously, have you seen some of the toppers out there these days? Come, come Wilton. We can do better. I refuse to use a cut plastic sculpture of a dancing Barbie and Ken for my non-existent wedding.

The beauty of this cake was truly in the details. The pearls were both perfectly pretty and heinously annoying–they kept rolling all over the floor. But the effect was worth a few more floor sweeps, I think. Probably I think that because I wasn’t the one sweeping and still finding pearls on the second floor weeks later…


We kept the main frosting a traditional white and used a linen-y sort of yellow for the detailing. I think perhaps the pictures make it look a little more yellow than it was, but just by a shade or two.

I put up a lot of photos. I was really happy about them, and I couldn’t choose which ones I liked best. Please excuse my enthusiasm.

Look at the picture she chose for the other side of the topper! Super adorable. Their dog is their baby.

And here is my beautiful and creative helper and friend. Thanks for making this so fun, Jackie! Couldn’t have managed this project without you. And seriously, if y’all ever want an interior decorating consult or a haircut, let me put you in touch–she does good work.

For some reason, I say y’all on my blog way more than I do in real life,

Lauren

2 Responses to “Pipe Dream #20: To Make a Wedding Cake”


  1. 1 Sarah May 10, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Lauren- you are soo talented! That cake looks awesome. Seriously girl, you amaze me.

  2. 2 Melissa May 13, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    As long as the pearls you swept off the ground were not picked back up and used on the cake, huge kudos to you – beautiful!!! I love the frame and the simplicity of it all. Lovely.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


