Pipe Dream #26: To Remember Birthdays – Pink Champagne Cake

I have a problem. I can never remember your birthday. Well, I can remember it, if it falls the day before or after the 4th of July, or if you remind me constantly two weeks prior to the moment of your birth. But generally, I don’t know it. And the thing is, I really want to remember. I’m an ISFJ. I put a lot of stock in celebrating things like this.

I can barely even remember my best friends’ birthdays. I know Anthony was born in either August or September, on either the 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th, or 19th. We have a conversation about his birthday about twice a year because I always forget. It’s pathetic.

But this year, I surpassed myself. I almost forgot my own birthday. It just kind of snuck up on me. My last landmark birthday before 30, and I nearly forgot. I been busy, awright?

So I made myself a cake. It is called Pink Champagne Cake. And it was lovely. Eventually.

Remember that pretty book I received? I got this recipe from it.

As a cake-making amateur, I got impatient with letting the thing cool, so the slicing wasn’t perfect, the layers weren’t level, and the filling was not stiff enough to stay inside the cake. As you can see.

But somehow it came together. The frosting required 1/2 a cup of champagne, and my mind wasn’t thinking that this was unusual, so the frosting was way thin, and I had to add loads more powdered sugar to thicken it. It turned crusty on day two.

But the cake itself was particularly good. Light, but very moist, and with an unmistakable flavor of champagne. Bonus, you don’t even have to buy expensive champagne for this cake to taste good–the sugar rounds out the flavor of any cheap champagne very nicely. Pay no mind to the terrible filling job. I’ll do better next time.


It was also great fun to use my new piping tips and spatula. I use new spatulas for fun–ha! Among other things.

Enjoy!

L

Pink Champagne Cake

Adapted from Booze Cakes

For the cake:

3 cups all-purpose flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

2 cups sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

6 egg whites

red food coloring

2 cups champagne

For the frosting*:

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter

4 cups powdered sugar (double this?)

1/2 cup champagne

1/4 whole milk

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

red food coloring

Preheat oven to 350 ° F. Grease and flour two 9-inch pans. (I used 8 inch pans–don’t do that.)

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside. In a mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar 3-5 minutes until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and beat in egg whites one at a time. Mix in the food coloring.

Beat in flour mixture and champagne in three alternating additions, starting and ending with the flour to prevent curdling. Pour batter into pans and bake 35 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

For the frosting, beat butter for 1 minute in a mixing bowl. Gradually add remaining ingredients and beat until smooth and creamy.

Once the cake has cooled completely (you could even stick it in the freezer for a bit), place bottom layer on a cake plate and spread half of the frosting over top. Add top layer and cover with frosting.

*If I did this again, I would halve the amounts of both the liquids and add a little more champagne if the frosting is too stiff. Or figure out a better way. You can do it!

12 Responses to “Pipe Dream #26: To Remember Birthdays – Pink Champagne Cake”


  1. 1 nikol gianopoulos May 26, 2011 at 7:46 am

    Happy birthday! Your cake is beautiful and I am so happy to have found your blog!

  2. 2 Jamie June 7, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    25 is also a milestone birthday. You get to rent a car and your car insurance rates will go down. :)

  3. 3 Amby November 2, 2011 at 8:27 am

    It’s the day AFTER the 4th, love ;) <3

  4. 4 insurance March 30, 2013 at 7:24 am

    Good info. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve bookmarked it for later!

  5. 5 Dexter Missouri June 17, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    7, 2011, you savagely beat your child to the edge of death,” Mitchell said. Buying Ahead or Stock-pilingSince I started using coupons and really watching for deals, I have had the privilege of working for a number of major banks in the U.

  6. 6 contractor online baltimore June 25, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    The capacities of 8, 12, roofing baltimore maryland 16, and 20 quarts ensure you always have the right size pot
    for stews, soups, chili, and more. Hoffritz 4 Piece Nesting
    Aluminum Stockpot Set with Lids – This Hoffritz 4 Piece Nesting
    Aluminum Stockpot Set is perfect for preparing big family dinners, holiday meals, and large cookouts.
    The capacities of 8, 12, 16, and 20 quarts ensure you always have the right size pot for
    stews, soups, chili, and more.

  7. 7 cheap insurance Of the year July 9, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after browsing through some of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  8. 8 Otilia July 19, 2013 at 8:58 am

    Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your submit is just nice and that i can suppose you are an expert in this subject.

    Well with your permission let me to grasp your RSS feed to keep updated with approaching post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #66: To Never Over-Bake – A Literal Pound Cake « piping dreams Trackback on October 17, 2011 at 9:09 am
  2. 2 Pipe Dream #116: To Pick Right – Truffled Parmesan Biscuits with Ham, Asparagus and Pesto « piping dreams Trackback on June 18, 2012 at 8:06 am
  3. 3 Conflict Resolution Best Practices: Honey Beer Spice Cake | piping dreams Trackback on December 8, 2014 at 9:01 am
  4. 4 Pipe Dream #320: To Surface My Gender Prejudice Regarding “PMS Food” – Red Wine Chocolate Cake | piping dreams Trackback on March 9, 2015 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


