Pipe Dream #29: To Recreate Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies – Decent Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m constantly in search of a good chocolate chip cookie. So simple. So tasty. And people get addicted to them nearly as fast as they do to puppy chow.

Back in high school, I thought I had it made with the traditional Tollhouse recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. Oh how far I’ve come. Don’t get me wrong, those cookies taste good, but their texture is off. I hated to get them overly crispy, but then I would end up baking them for 5 minutes (seriously) and then wouldn’t be quite brown enough.

I didn’t feel the need to try anything new, though, until I saw this recipe at Smitten Kitchen. Before this recipe, I was ignorant and wayward. It opened my eyes to the dazzling world of potential chocolate chip cookies about which I had no knowledge.

Anyway. I made them. And they were so good. So good. The texture was just fabulous. But THEN! The subsequent three times I made them, I could not get them to turn out. One time they were as hard as rocks. Another time, they spread way thin. And I don’t know what I’m doing wrong!

But I know this: Since my failed attempts, I have been looking desperately for another chocolate chip cookie recipe that will induce the same kind of bliss I once experienced.

Which brings me to these. They include shortening. I cringed, but at this point, I’m willing to do whatever it takes, even eating solidified soybean oil.

Don’t let my fear of shortening put you off though–these cookies were great. Better texture than Tollhouse and still a lot of flavor. Though they are not quite on par with my previous cookies (they weren’t super soft on day two), I would make them again if I were desperate.

Until we meet again, fair cookie,

L

P.S. Sorry about the drama. It’s Wednesday.

P.P.S. If you make Smitten Kitchen’s recipe and they somehow turn out, please let me know.

Decent Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from food.com

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup real butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 large eggs
1 (12 ounce) package semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 375° F. Mix flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl. In a separate bowl, beat butter and shortening until creamy. Add sugar and vanilla and beat with a mixer on medium speed until well blended. Beat in eggs, one at a time, mixing well. Add flour mixture, and beat slowly to incorporate, then beat to blend well. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts. Drop by 2 tablespoon measures onto cookie sheet and bake about 9 minutes, or until the edges of the cookies are golden. Transfer to wire rack and let cool.

4 Responses to “Pipe Dream #29: To Recreate Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies – Decent Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 Bri June 1, 2011 at 8:57 am

    My recipe that has never failed is very close but with slight deviations.

    3 cups all-purpose flour
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 cup real butter, at room temperature
    1/3 cup shortening
    1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
    2 teaspoons vanilla (I usually add a dash more).
    2 large eggs
    1 (12 ounce) package semi-sweet chocolate chips (actually the ratio works best if you leave about three hand fulls of chocolate chips leftover).
    1 cup chopped nuts (optional/never used in mi casa).

    Bake at 375. This recipe comes from a church cookbook in the 1950’s…which explains the obscene amount of butter. Happy baking!

  2. 2 Bert Tisher June 1, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Times must be hard – to have to enjoy puppy chow.


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #47: To Recreate A Decent Chocolate Chip Cookie, Revisited – Updated Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies « piping dreams Trackback on July 25, 2011 at 8:33 am
  2. 2 Pros and Cons: POY’s Perfect Cookies | piping dreams Trackback on November 20, 2013 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


