Pipe Dream #30: To Imitate A Fabulous Couple

As I was talking to a friend at the wedding I did a couple of weeks ago, I was struck by this thought: Everyone is so happy about this wedding. There is an infectious joy surrounding it.

It’s like everyone has known that their relationship was so right for so long that it was just complete joy to see their marriage finally come to pass. The Lord is totally present here.

Of all the weddings I’ve ever attended, this one just felt so perfect.  The pastor was funny. He mixed super formal phrases (“Let no one put asunder”) with more informal notes. The bride looked smashing.  The reception dance was off the chain. Plus, the venue looked AWESOME. The bride had such a vision for the space, and the bridal party worked some long hours putting it together.

I actually mingled at this wedding. And danced. Oh ma word, introvert Lauren! You deserve a pat on the back. Here are some comments from other people with which I could not agree more:

“They are best friends. I’m excited to see how the Lord uses them together.”  Amen.

“They are both so, so kind and generous.” And that is so TRUE.

“It has been so neat to see him grow in his relationship with her. I have never seen their relationship affect others in anything less than a positive way.” And that is SO true.

I am totally blessed by the couple’s friendship, kindness and dedication to Jesus. And knowing that made all my stresses about the cupcakes being dry seem unimportant.

That said, I wilt offer thou a couple of little notes to anyone making a wedding cake in the near future that will hopefully save you some stress:

1)   Do not drive 2 hours with a fully assembled wedding cake on the seat next to you. The frosting WILL fall off and you will have to fix it later. Your hyper-extended arm that didn’t even still the cake for the whole ride will be quite sore upon arrival at the venue. You will realize you forgot your clear vanilla at home and the fixer frosting will be ivory instead of white. You will feel like crying about that. Then you will remember that the bride and groom as SO CHILL, and you will feel better.

2)   Incidentally, the cupcakes were a bit dry after making them two days in advance. (The cake was so incredible, though. Recipe here.) They would have been better day of. I am going to experiment with freezing cupcakes in the future. I haf my doubts.

3)   Do not plan two weddings and 14 hours of driving plus 250 cupcakes and a two-tier cake in one weekend. Although rewarding, it is unwise. I can’t take credit for the little bump the cake suffered on its way to the venue (although the groom can). I covered it with that white ranunculus, and I thought it looked all right.

What a joy to be part of such a lovely day. I hope ya’ll like this cake–it was nearly the death of me.

Heh,

Lauren

6 Responses to “Pipe Dream #30: To Imitate A Fabulous Couple”


  1. 1 Sarah June 2, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Lauren, your creations were so beautiful, and that cake was SO good. I want every aspiring baker to try out the recipe, including myself :)

    Thanks so much for all your hard work. We were so blessed to have you on board.

  2. 2 tim June 2, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Wow. Ive never even seen a cool looking cake like this! Bravissimo!

  3. 3 Bert Tisher June 2, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    The cake and cupcakes look great eh!

  4. 4 Hubba Hubba Ding Dong June 2, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Beautiful, just beautiful! You inspire me to bake a cake… other than the boxed kind that is. ;-)

  5. 5 Free Wireless Phone July 12, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.


  1. 1 I Got It Right (For Once): Summer Wedding Edition « piping dreams Trackback on August 1, 2012 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


