I Got It Right: Bakery Buttercream

Oh, but I am a lucky girl.

I have these massive lists of bookmarks on my web browser marked “To Try.” The “To Try” folder is filled with recipes that look irresistible and/or are impossible for me to recreate due to my lack of skill/time/patience. But I still stick the impossible recipes in there to inspire me and to push myself to be better. I was looking through the folders trying to clear out recipes that I had already tried and links that had expired when I came upon this frosting recipe.

It was such an unassuming web page. The design wasn’t super appealing, and the recipe sounded unusual. And the recipe included shortening. That is actually the main reason I decided to try it–I actually had shortening on hand. “What up, Lauren? You had shortening on hand?” Yes. I did. And I’m not sorry.

This frosting is incredible. It pipes beautifully (my piping adventures to be posted soon), has a smooth, firm consistency, and didn’t crust over forEVER. It is like the fries in the Extras on the DVD “Super Size Me.” I’m sure if I would have left these cupcakes under a glass jar, they never would have gone moldy.

I used my go-to one bowl recipe, and used a piping tip to add some chai-spiced cream cheese frosting in the middle. They were fab.

Success!

Lauren

Really Awesome Buttercream

Adapted from Cooksrecipes.com

Makes 3 3/4 cups

1 cup vegetable shortening

4 cups powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 teaspoon clear imitation vanilla extract (or regular extract–it didn’t turn brown or anything)

3 ounces heavy cream

Food coloring as desired

With an electric mixer, beat shortening until fluffy. Add powdered sugar, and continue beating until well blended.
Add salt, vanilla, cream of tartar and heavy cream, beating on low speed until moistened, and adding more heavy cream if you feel the frosting is too dry. Add food coloring if desired. Beat at high speed until frosting is fluffy.

6 Responses to “I Got It Right: Bakery Buttercream”


  1. 1 tim June 6, 2011 at 9:22 am

    sounds yum. like the supersize me comment haha. the chai spiced cream was ultracreative :} sweet dreams!

  2. 2 losangelas June 6, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    I so recognize myself, in the too many recipes to try, but… well but most of them stay on my computer… :)
    but this looks delicious, and pretty pictures too!
    Thanks!

  3. 3 daybookexchange June 14, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I really admire someone who can make these, baking and I are like ex lovers. We’ll never work.

  4. 4 research paper blog July 15, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my audience would value your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #171: To Create-A-Date – Pastel Cake with Toasted Marshmallow Filling « piping dreams Trackback on February 11, 2013 at 8:33 am
  2. 2 Pipe Dream #204: To Dissociate – Black and White Berry Ganache Cupcakes | piping dreams Trackback on July 1, 2013 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


