Pipe Dream #32: To Find My “Soulmate” – Gingersnaps

I’m giving these Gingersnaps a capital G because they are the quintessential gingersnap recipe. You need never search for another. These gingersnaps will finish your sentences. It will feel weird when they are not around. They will be the bees to your knees. Soulmate Gingersnaps.

P.S. I can so tell it is wedding season right now.

Back when I was in college, my friends and I maybe used to do fun college kid things like spray painting Biblically-inspired graffiti for all the heroin addicts hanging out by the river and raiding the Alumni fountain for peoples’ wishes. (We bought a Twix bar, and it was delicious.) Often, we would all end up at my place post-adventure and I would make Gingersnaps.

Sidenote, I hate saying “back when I was in college” like I’m old now. Not going to do that anymore. Sorry.

I also make them per request on a regular basis. I also make them on rainy days when my body is craving molasses. (What? Your body doesn’t crave molasses every three weeks or so?) I didn’t have any ginger a few times, so I used an extra teaspoon of cinnamon in its place. No one mentioned it.

Sometimes, I have this hostessing thing that emerges with me when I’m around people. Like I’ll have to make things for people to eat. I think it’s my German heritage or something (Eat more, Augustus!). These are originally my Grandma’s recipe, which I took from a family cookbook last year.

I’ll keep these forever.

‘Til death do us part,

Lauren

Soulmate Gingersnaps

3/4 cup (12 tablespoons) butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

¼ cup molasses

2 cups flour

2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger (or substitute an extra heaping teaspoon of cinnamon)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream the butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until well incorporated. Stir in the molasses.

Sift together the dry ingredients together, or cheat and just dump in the flour and the other dry ingredients on top of it. Mix well, and drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto a baking sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes and let cool on baking sheet for a bit before transferring them to a wire rack.

Note: If you want them to get a bit harder like traditional gingersnaps, bake them for the full 12 minutes. I don’t like crunchy cookies, so I sometimes take them out at 7 minutes. Probably I won’t get salmonella poisoning or whatever disease I might get from undercooked cookies.

8 Responses to “Pipe Dream #32: To Find My “Soulmate” – Gingersnaps”


  1. 1 Lauren June 13, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Stop! You’re making me feel like I have to bake these right away!! My favourites…

  2. 2 Carmen June 13, 2011 at 10:42 am

    Sorry, that was actually MY comment…

  3. 3 Rachel June 13, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    These are my soulmate. Straight up.

  4. 4 Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 17, 2011 at 9:43 am

    That picture of the molasses is so cool, I almost want to drink it. Great photos and recipe.

  5. 5 Rachel June 20, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Okay I just made this, and it failed? First it seemed as though there was not enough flour, because they were too sticky to even roll. And then I think I overcompensated with the flour because now they are thick and gross. What happened? I know I put in two cups of flour in the beginning….blah.

  6. 6 katshealthcorner July 10, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Gingersnaps are my dad’s FAVORITE!!!! :D


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #75: To Believe They Exist – Unicorn Sugar Cookies « piping dreams Trackback on December 2, 2011 at 8:05 am
  2. 2 Pipe Dream #257: To Be A Dubious Deviator – Brown Butter Gingersnaps | piping dreams Trackback on March 19, 2014 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


