Pipe Dream #37: To Be A Storm Chaser


I have only seen clouds like this one other time in my life. They’re mesmerizingly ethereal. I’m not sure what conditions create these kinds of clouds. Maybe tornadoes. I think there was one that night. P.S. I have problems keeping up with current events. The tsunami in Japan this year? I didn’t know about that until a couple days after it happened. And I’m a PR major.

These clouds are kind of like James. He’s all like, “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, when you face trials of many kinds because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.” I mean, they’re sort of like that. Storms in life, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, all that. In the case of these clouds, the tornado storm is producing something super beautiful.

To me, it would be worth chasing tornadoes to catch a glimpse of these clouds. They’re worth it. So unique and captivating. I wish I was more willing to chase figurative storms, knowing that experiencing them would produce faith and perseverance in my life.

I’ll work on it. Or at least, if I don’t chase them yet, I’ll complain less about current life-storms. For example, the toilets I find plugged on a weekly basis. Oh camp. Thank you for producing a wealth of perseverance in a great multitude of people over the years.

I like clouds,

Lauren

2 Responses to “Pipe Dream #37: To Be A Storm Chaser”


  1. 1 Rita (Sarah's mom) June 28, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Great post! Beautiful photography and great thoughts.

  2. 2 Elizabeth Chavalas July 5, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    Oh, James. Such straight arrows of wisdom right smack dab into the middle of my soul. Clouds like these are fascinating, though I have never gotten a shot when I have seen them [a rare occurance]. You should find out the name of these formations so that when ‘What’s your fave cloud formation or weather pattern?’ comes up at a cocktail party, we may both have answers.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


