Pipe Dream #42: To Make My Hip Mother Proud – Seriously The Devil’s Food Cake


My mum is something else. I won’t say much past that or she’ll start crying, and she hates when people draw attention to that.

I asked her what she wanted me to make her for letting me cry on her shoulder for 21 years. She said, “Coffee and chocolate.” I said, “Right on.” Or something to that effect.

The Devil’s Food Cake was rather dry in comparison to my now-favorite chocolate cake (-1), and I experimented with putting undissolved instant coffee granules in the icing. This gave the icing these weird little bitter chunks (-1) and a grainy consistency (-1). However, do you see that fondant!? +2 for an incredibly smooth finish and a pretty decent taste as far as fondant goes. Add in a bonus point for a rich ganache filling, and this cake gets a 0 for overall quality.

Marshmallow fondant tutorial recipe coming right up, I promise.

Also, Mother’s Day was in May. I actually do know that. What you don’t know is that these pictures were taken in May.

Oh snap!

Did you know that one of my mom’s favorite songs to quote is ‘Drama Queen’ by Family Force Five. She always gets us with “oh snap.” Every once in a while, she’ll bust out some rando pop culture tune and my sessies and I have to say, “Mom, that is not ok for you to say in social situations.” I always get convicted when this happens. You try feeling ok when your mom starts singing, “Don’t you wish your girlfriend was hot like me…” True story.

Oh snap, Mom, you are pretty and wonderful.

Much love from the hood,

Lalaqueesha Hennesy (my rapper name, generated via Rum & Monkey)

3 Responses to “Pipe Dream #42: To Make My Hip Mother Proud – Seriously The Devil’s Food Cake”


  1. 1 Sharon Hedstrom July 13, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Sweet post on a sweet mom! Beautiful cake! Auntie Sharon

  2. 2 discount ceiling fans August 27, 2014 at 6:01 am

    The motor is responsible for producing quiet operation while driving the blades for air movement.
    The 13-inch fan body is one of the smallest on the market.
    When picking out the fan, you have to be quite watchful.


  1. 1 Favorite Shots: Just A Few Essentials | piping dreams Trackback on July 19, 2013 at 9:03 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


