Pipe Dream #46: To Be Super Chill Like My Fictional Antithesis


Ok, this is my new favorite photograph. Isn’t it your new favorite photograph too?

I took it at a wedding. A very lovely, classy wedding. I happened to make the cupcakes for it.

All of the decorations were darling. It made taking pictures so easy. My work was practically done for me.

I was worried that because I was doing four different cupcakes, they would look too eclectic and disorganized. I was wrong. World 2 Lauren 0.

Despite the heavy rain that hit the cardboard carriers, the heat that threatened to dislodge the cream cheese icing and the severe knots in my back that resulted from watching a box of cupcakes flip over when I had to slam on the brakes in the middle of I-94 (so not my fault), everything went off pretty well. The cupcakes in that box got totally smoked by the way. I may not recover. Strike that. I’m recovered, but the knots remain.

Incidentally, I feel that I finally understand Buddy Valastro and the stress of moving cakes. It is legitimately the most worrisome thing. And I even like baking.

It is in times like these that I think of the perfect person. It is the person who is the exact opposite of me. The grass is always greener, eh? Anyway, this fictional antithesis of myself would never get stressed out about things like this. He is super chill. Maybe he just doesn’t care what people think of him. Actually, I know that is true. It means he rarely worries about how things are going to turn out.

Despite the smoking, the remaining cupcakes were just fine. People took them anyway. I know because I was watching the table like a hawk from the corner of my eye. No, of course I wasn’t feeling the pressure. Silly.

For this wedding, I made four different types of cupcakes. I made the most delicious strawberry cupcakes with a strawberry buttercream.

I made a gluten free dark chocolate cherry cupcake with almond buttercream, the recipe for which is soon to come. I particularly appreciated this recipe. The cake was moist and happy! Unlike some other gluten free bricks of cake, which are lame.

There was also an adaption of my honey poached pear cupcakes with a cream cheese cardamom frosting and candied ginger. They were mini and cute. Anything mini is cute. Like mini tea sets. Or mini rose-colored whale pendants that you find at antique stores for two dollars.

And finally, key lime cupcakes with coconut cream cheese frosting. Marvy.

How happy these people look. They don’t know they are on my blog probably. I particularly like the expression of the guy on the top middle. He seems to be saying, “Whaddya know? A cupcake just did sure show up in my hand.” Smile smile smile.

Thanks forever to David and Becca. What a beautiful story and a beautiful wedding. I am excited to see them use their creative talents together. If you are ever in the neighborhood and are looking for a church, check out Mill City.

Chillaxing like a hippie until the next wedding,

L

9 Responses to “Pipe Dream #46: To Be Super Chill Like My Fictional Antithesis”


  1. 1 wildchow July 19, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Beautiful Lauren! I was just checking my face book and your pretty picture caught my eye! I am making some cup cakes just like the ones you made for the wedding for a going away party for our city administrator next Wednesday! I love the chocolate cake with the almond creme frosting and a simple raspberry on top! Keep the beautiful photos coming!

  2. 2 Jordan Noblitt July 19, 2011 at 9:16 am

    My dearest Laur,

    a few things:

    – I love your blog.
    – I love you.
    – I love the picture with the mini cupcake.
    – I have been called “mini” before.
    – I LOVE key lime.
    – I love you [did I say that twice? Oh well.]

    J

  3. 3 Beth July 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Lauren, love the gluten free support!

  4. 4 Tim July 19, 2011 at 10:33 am

    your marriage of vivid photography, the doe-like prancing of words, and the ever apparent happiness, metaphor the triune divine, as does the blissful wedding for which these delicacies were stylishly fashioned. In two words, scrumptious and fetching

  5. 5 James July 19, 2011 at 11:09 am

    I am tempted to try this! Yum!!

  6. 6 Lauren July 19, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Thanks, Lisa! I hope they turn out well!


  1. 1 Wedding Testers: Gluten Free Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes « piping dreams Trackback on October 13, 2011 at 8:11 am
  2. 2 I Got It Right (For Once): Summer Wedding Edition « piping dreams Trackback on August 1, 2012 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


