Pipe Dream #47: To Recreate A Decent Chocolate Chip Cookie, Revisited – Updated Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Do you remember the time I told you that I experience chocolate chip cookie bliss and then could never return to eat of its goodness? I felt like Perspehone, abducted by my conniving recipe, allowed to eat the sweet fruit of my labor, only to be told that I was never to return to the surface of cookie dough heaven again.

It was dramatic.

And I could not give it up. Seriously, I have been burdened because I can’t get these cookies right. So I tried them again, for the fifth time. After three failed attempts. What was I thinking?

But let me tell you. They worked this time. WorkED.

Because this recipe involves melting butter instead of merely softening it, I think the key is to let the butter cool a bit after you melt it. You want almost room temperature butter instead of hot butter. This could explain why my previous fails turned out so crispy. Unfounded theory that is sort of founded: Maybe the hot butter I used melted the sugar in the dough and made it crunchy. I’ll pretend that’s right.

On the other hand, my theory could be wrong, and these cookies could be the best of accidents. But if I were you, I would still try your hand at them. You have a 1 in 5 chance of having the best day of your life.

I was inexplicably interested in Greek mythology as a child,

L

Updated Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325°F (165°C). Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.

Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside. In a medium bowl, cream together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended.

Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended.

Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time (for giant cookies) or a tablespoon at a time (for smaller cookies) onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 3 inches apart.

Bake larger cookies for 15 to 17 minutes, or 10 to 12 minutes for smaller ones (fa-lease don’t overbake these) in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

7 Responses to “Pipe Dream #47: To Recreate A Decent Chocolate Chip Cookie, Revisited – Updated Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 Auntie Andrea July 22, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Lauren:

    Did I ever tell you about my perfect chocolate chip recipe? Created by a Canadian cook/baker (Anna Olson) that Sienna’s Dad used to work for in Ontario (your cousin, Chelsey, has met her as well). Try them and let me know what you think – I will never use another recipe again. Perfectly moist and never crunchy…

    http://food.chatelaine.com/Recipes/View/Anna_Olson_s_Chewy_chocolate_chip_cookies

  2. 2 yourquickcashloans.co.uk January 14, 2013 at 8:14 am

    With havin so much written content do you ever run
    into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has a
    lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  3. 3 samsinstantcashloans.co.uk January 14, 2013 at 9:04 am

    Hi there, I found your site via Google at the same time as searching for a comparable matter, your website came
    up, it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and located that it is really informative. I’m gonna
    be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you proceed this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #137: To Help A Girl Out – Blueberry Boy Bait « piping dreams Trackback on September 12, 2012 at 9:11 am
  2. 2 Pipe Dream #188: To Appreciate Only – Cinnamon Nutella Biscotti | piping dreams Trackback on April 8, 2013 at 8:31 am
  3. 3 Pros and Cons: POY’s Perfect Cookies | piping dreams Trackback on November 20, 2013 at 9:02 am
  4. 4 Pipe Dream #263: To List It – Nutmeg Logs | piping dreams Trackback on April 16, 2014 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


