I Got It Right: Rachel P, Model/Friend of the Century

I have this friend. She is the model of the century. I’ve just given her that title because of the beautiful shots I was privileged to take of her. And when I say privileged, I mean it.

Basically, what happened is this:

Me: Guys! We already look pretty ok! Let’s dress up and go out to the carnival and take pictures!

Rachel: *Silence and incredulous look.

Me: No really! It will be so fun. And we can wear heels!

Rachel: Um, I don’t like wearing heels.

Me: No really! It is so ok. It will be so great. Come on!

Rachel: Ok. I guess since you’re only back for one day, I’ll give in this time, but I’ll remember this the next time I want you to come with me to a super charismatic worship house party and you say, ‘But I don’t feel like laughing hysterically tonight.’

She didn’t actually say that last. And Rachel doesn’t go to super charismatic worship house parties usually. But it is true that she was doing me a huge favor by dressing up and posing for pictures just to make me happy. She is my dear friend.

And it did make me happy. Bonus, when she saw some of these shots, she was happy too. At least, she hasn’t seen most of these, but when she does, I hope she’ll be pleased. Like I said, we are good friends. I think. :]

Now, our town carnival comes to the baseball fields every summer in July. It is pretty trashy and horrendously overpriced, so I don’t usually go, but in this case I just couldn’t resist the twinkling lights and bright colors. It was reminiscent of The Notebook, one of those movies with which everyone has a love/hate relationship. Pretty sure.

Oh, you are beautiful.

Right before this shot, I’m pretty sure there was another conversation:

Me: Rachel, will you please go stand in front of that thing with the lights?

Rachel: Ok.

Me: Cool. Ok, please turn a little more to the right…a little more. No, too much. Ok great. Ok lower.

At this point, I was laying flat on the ground in a dress trying to angle my elbow so the shot would stay steady and still get the ride in the background.

Rachel: This is so embarrassing!

Me: Rachel, we will never see these people again.

Rachel: Ok.

In addition to being a stunning beauty, Rachel also has a most fabulous personality and outlook on life. Check out her blog here. It’s jamming, fer real.

Enjoy this for it cost someone a lot of dignity,

L

5 Responses to “I Got It Right: Rachel P, Model/Friend of the Century”


  1. 1 Anthony August 2, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Yep, that’s how it all happened. :) So much fun!

  2. 2 Roger Messner August 3, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    “a super charismatic worship house party”

    wow.

  3. 3 rachelshane August 4, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    ohmaword. This is straight up hilarious. Do I look pregnant in picture number 4? Can you photoshop that so I don’t? And I am so not model-esque. I am actually quite un-photogenic. But these pictures are happy, so all credit for these great pics go to YOU, not me :)

    Sorry I whined so much. But seriously, that was a crazy idea of you. Carnies.


  1. 1 awkward. | RACHEL SHANE Trackback on August 4, 2011 at 8:56 pm
  2. 2 Guest Recipe: Rachel’s Frangelico Float « piping dreams Trackback on October 23, 2012 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


