Pipe Dream #51: To Pipe Buttercream Roses

It has finally happened. I feel like I could just shut this blog down now because I have accomplished my main life/baking goal.

Ok, more overstatement, but seriously. Buttercream roses? I have been decrying my ability to produce these since the beginning of time.

Two of the main reasons I didn’t want to try this technique: 1) I’m lazy. 2) I like to be good at things.

I don’t like things that I have to practice a lot, which means I’m basically super undisciplined and prideful. I don’t want to get shown up at anything, but at the same time, I don’t want to work hard to make myself better at anything.

Isn’t that a horrible combination of traits? I know. It’s a problem. But there is hope! Because God is teaching me to be more disciplined and humble. It’s practically penance to post these shoddy roses on this blog, see?

I tried these on one of those flower-making nails you can pick up at any craft store and used a pair of those little blunted scissors to transfer the roses to the cake. Because the frosting was getting too soft and I was in a hurry, the roses were kind of flippy and misshapen. If I was really cool/motivated to be really excellent, I would have chilled the frosting for a minute, done the roses on little squares of parchment and waited for them to dry a bit before placing them.

Here are a few videos explaining how to make buttercream roses, should you want to show me up. You could easily do so and be better than me, which would be good for my pride issues.

This girl is the fastest I ever saw. She uses a sharpened dowel rod instead of a flower nail.

This is a little slower. Plus, I like SeriousCakes. I feel like we are friends because I watch her videos so often, and she shares her recipes.

Best wishes from the pen of a recovering instant gratification addict,

Lauren

3 Responses to “Pipe Dream #51: To Pipe Buttercream Roses”


  1. 1 Serious Cakes February 11, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Thank you for the props! I’m not a fan of doing things more than once, particularly when things turn out so badly. But I make myself do them anyway, practice doesn’t always make perfect but it does make BETTER :D

    Your cake turned out cute and your roses look a whole lot better than my early ones!

  2. 2 galipeau June 25, 2014 at 4:38 am

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.


  1. 1 A Pastry Delayed – Patisserie 46 | piping dreams Trackback on November 28, 2013 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


