Pipe Dream #52: To Not Be A Spaz In Front Of Famous People

 

Remember thou mine glorious shots of Rachel P? Well. There was so much more going on that night. I mean, it can’t be denied that Rachel was an integral part of the evening, but presumptuous carnies, mini donuts and old-school rides caught my attention as well. Plus Anthony, my dear friend. For years he worked at DQ and would bring me free sundaes. Come on people, that only happens in the movies. And my life.

Also, my beautiful friends!

Random, but do you want to hear another story that only happens in the movies and my life?

K good. So when I was a sophomore in college, Phoenix was coming to play First Avenue in Minneapolis. This was the tour for their album Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, which is huge and awesome and jamming. Tickets sold out within the first few weeks on the market, so I was left to pathetically imagine the impressively catchy riffs and ethereal synth pop penetrating the inky blackness of the premier venue of the Cities.

Such was the effect of my pining that when a friend told me that Phoenix had agreed to play a small acoustic show at The Electric Fetus, I snatched up tickets without delay. Better than nothing, right? We went and it was fine. I think they were jet-lagged or something because they were all wearing scarves and dark circles, but it was fun because it was such a small show. Probably only fifty people. Anyway, so afterward, we all got to walk through a line and meet the band. Super nerve-wracking because they’re, like, famous, but I managed to keep my cool all the way through their smooth lines sung in darling French accents.

Until. Laurent. The last member of the band to greet me, we joked for five seconds about our names before…”So, are you coming to the show tonight?” I replied (read: stuttered) with regret that I had been unable to snag tickets.

And then Laurent pulled a little beat-up paper out of his pocket, grabbed a Sharpie and said, “Oh, that’s ok. I’ll just put you on The List…Yeah sure…Oh and here’s a plus one for your friend…Make sure you sing loud. I want you right up front.”

After they pulled me out of my faint (kidding), I mumbled a bit of thanks and smiled a dazzling smile and then ran outside to celebrate what is clearly the favor of God in my life. We went to the show. I walked up to the 300-pound, tattooed bouncer with a smoking beard (if I remember right), and said, “I’m on The List.” He gave The List a glance, made a slight nod, and I was in.

Basically the coolest I’ve ever been in my life. And the show was awesome. And this story is totally unrelated to this post. Just thought you should know.

Anthony posed obligingly for me after several eye rolls. What a man.

He also took a few shots for me in the process. For real, he does not shave his legs.

I was captivated by the lights. Everything seemed so sparkly and surreal. Like we were in this sparkly bubbly place and everyone else just didn’t really exist. I know. Another one of my better descriptions.

Fun. Merry-go-rounds are so nostalgic.

I love the brown tones in this shot.

Hello, sir. Wanna be on my blog? Ok stand still. Thanks. Ok, we’ll throw a few balls. Nope, no thank you. Bye.

Spontaneously enjoying planned civil events,

Lauren

0 Responses to “Pipe Dream #52: To Not Be A Spaz In Front Of Famous People”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


