Favorite Shots: Cilantro Chunkie

My dad is somewhat facebook-ly famous for his raw/foreign/unique food pictures that he posts. He especially loves “green drinks,” brightly colored chunkies filled with fruits and vegetables. I’m calling them chunkies, not smoothies, because heaven knows they are not smooth. Anyway, I want to be just as cool as my dad, so I decided to post a shot of what he forced me to drink a couple weeks ago.

I saw him blending something, but I didn’t pay much attention until he said, “Hey Lo, want some of my smoothie?”

After figuring out that the smoothie was approximately 40 percent watermelon, 10 percent peach and 50 percent cilantro, I said, “Um, no.” I could tell he was hurt by my flat refusal, so I eventually told him I’d give it a try. He poured me but a pauper’s portion from his tankard, but to me, it seemed a little much. After one sip I was done.

I have issues with cilantro because one time when I was little, I woke up from a nap to this sick boiling cilantro smell. My dad had picked it all from the garden and was making some rando cilantro soup. And I’ve been scarred since.

Aren’t you glad you know these stories from my life? Why do you even read this? :]

16 days cilantro-free,

L

8 Responses to “Favorite Shots: Cilantro Chunkie”


  1. 1 1postamt August 11, 2011 at 9:20 am

    haha like!

  2. 2 Sharon Hedstrom August 11, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    Yum! Uncle TC’s gourmet food!! It rocks! Shar

  3. 3 Roger Messner August 11, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    A little cilantro goes a looooong way. When you order a burrito at Taco Taxi on Bloomington & Lake they always ask if you want it “Mexican style” or “American”. Major difference between the two…yup, cilantro!

    Why do I read these? You have cracked me up since you were a littlin’ & my daughters think you are cool. Your pics are great & honestly waiting for a Piping Dreams open call for Carnival Models!

    Also, I love your dad!

    Not only do I read these, I share them.

    Tweeta,

    Roger

    Oh & for the record Taco Taxi is totally worth it & “Mexican style” is the only way to go. The only down side is that it might lessen ones Chipotle love.

  4. 4 Lauren August 15, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Roger, you are funny. :]

  5. 5 voordeelcodes November 1, 2011 at 11:56 am

    This surely makes great sense to anyone!


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #64: Um…Chocolate – Flourless Chocolate Torte « piping dreams Trackback on October 5, 2011 at 9:11 am
  2. 2 Favorite Shots: Dad, You Are So Hilarious To Me « piping dreams Trackback on September 7, 2012 at 9:09 am
  3. 3 Pipe Dream #242: Ok, But Really Kick It Off – Healthy Zucchini Muffins | piping dreams Trackback on January 8, 2014 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


