Pipe Dream #56: To Be Right – Famous Dave’s Bread Pudding

My father had been insinuatingly asking me to make this recipe for months. At first I was skeptical. Here is my thought progression:

Bread pudding? Sounds like a carb-fest to me.

Also, it sounds like it might be kind of English and bland.

But Dad really wants me to make it.

Where are you going to get a half loaf of French bread?

But seriously, when have you ever been afraid of a carb-fest? You make cupcakes on a weekly basis.

Yeah, but breads carbs seem eviler than frosting carbs.

Hey look! Old French bread that nobody is going to eat!

Ok, whatever. I’ll do it.

So we whiskED up some cream and eggs. I don’t even want to tell you how much cream is in this, but I guess you’ll see at the end of this post. Please do not let it deter you. You will not know regret after tasting this.

It turns out that in this case, my father was quite right about this bread pudding. It was not bland or boring. But it was a carb-fest. In my ongoing quest to be right, I can at least cling to that. It was a carb-FEST. Thought: you could eat this right before a marathon. That would be perfect.

For some reason, I had to bake this longer than the recipe called for. It seemed a bit too jiggly at first. I just kept a close eye on it and let it go for 10 minute intervals until it was less jiggly. Sorry I’m not being more specific. Blame it on my ISFJ personality or something.

And if we’re talking about my problems now, might as well hit a few more. The jiggliness could be the result of not using the water bath called for in the recipe. Sorry, I just don’t have a pan big enough to hold a 9×13 and a bunch of water. And notice the weird cinnamon crusty dark stuff? I could have avoided that if I had mixed the cinnamon with the sugar before adding it to the wet ingredients. Please learn from my mistakes.

Anyway, in the end, everything turned out just fine. It was a wonderful bread pudding, and someday I will make it again.  I would be interested to try it with different fruits. I can take or leave raisins. Let me know if you try it with something different, eh?

Also, notice the sinful looking sauce draping the calorie-laden crags of the pudding? That recipe is coming next, so stay tuned. This recipe is not complete without it. I’m so adamant on that point.

Best of luck,

Lauren

Famous Dave’s Bread Pudding

Adapted from famousdavesbbq.com

butter (as needed)

1/2 – 3/4 cup golden raisins, to taste

1/2 loaf French bread or egg bread

1 1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

8 eggs, beaten

4 cups milk

2 cups heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup vanilla extract

pan spray

hot water

Heavily butter 13”X9” pan with softened butter

Sprinkle 1/2 cup golden raisins on bottom of each pan

Remove crusts from bread slices and break into 1”-2” chunks

NOTE: DO NOT USE KNIFE TO REMOVE CRUSTS

Evenly distribute crusts from loaf on top of raisins and sprinkle 1/2 of the golden raisins on top of bread crusts. Tear bread middles into 1”-2” chunks and evenly distribute on top of crusts.

Separately blend sugar and cinnamon together in a large mixing bowl with a wire whip (like I didn’t). Crack eggs into bowl with cinnamon sugar; whisk eggs to blend. Add milk, cream, and vanilla to egg mixture and blend with wire whip.

Pour custard mixture into pan of bread; use all liquid even though it will look like your bread is drowning. Trust meh. Press any visible crusts or raisins down into custard. Spray sheet of foil with pan spray and loosely cover bread pudding with foil.

Place covered bread pudding in 4” roasting pan and add water to reach halfway up side of the baking dish. Place in 325 degree oven and bake covered for one hour; remove foil and bake another 20-30 minutes (or longer). Remove bread pudding from oven and cool on wire rack for 60 minutes. The pudding will continue to cook as it cools.

Serve warm with praline sauce (to come!) and whipped cream and/or ice cream.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


