Pipe Dream #57: To Maintain a Blog, Among Other Things – Caramel Praline Sauce

I have to be honest with you. In an attempt to spread out my posts throughout the summer, I separated two inseparable recipes. Namely, this caramel praline sauce and yesterday’s succulent bread pudding. In trying to be smart about time management, I have purposely sacrificed your potential satisfaction in yesterday’s recipe.

In fact, I may have even compromised my future readership. What if some unwitting soul read yesterday’s post, decided they couldn’t live another 24 hours without that pudding and went ahead and made it without today’s recipe? Although they would surely be happy with the results of the recipe, their subconscious would doubtlessly feel something lacking. Their internal monologue would progress as such:

“Man, that bread pudding was awesome. Except, it could have been better. I don’t know how, but I feel as though something was missing. What the heck, Lauren? How did you miss this? I can’t trust any of your recipes again because you are purposely leading me away from the purest forms of happiness. See ya.”

And then no one would read my blog.

I guess I’m taking chances, posting these two recipes separately. Like a risk-taker. Gosh, I wish I could say I was cool enough to be a risk-taker.

And now for a completely random side note of Lauren philosophy. To anyone who says they like change: 1) I am jealous of you. 2) I don’t understand. 3) In my heart, I don’t actually believe that you are telling the truth. No one likes change, really.

Hokay. This recipe requires making caramel, something at which I have gotten better, as evidenced by things like Homemade Twix Bars and Salted Caramel Brownies, a recipe which I may or may not post due to the lack of sufficient picture-age. This caramel was practically fun. I was more confidenced this time, despite a frantic scramble to find a candy thermometer that I knew was somewhere in the drawer, but that I couldn’t find for the life of me. Meanwhile, my caramel was getting bubblier and bubblier…

One of my mom’s many good qualities is that she can find things that other people I can’t. When I’m home, I usually lose shoes in the closet and spices in the cupboard. I’ll spend ten minutes looking for whatever I’m missing, I mean, really looking. Then I’ll give up, ask her to come find it, and she will spot it in approximately .63 seconds. Because the thing that I am looking for is right in front of my face. Story of my life.

If you have any plans to make yesterday’s bread pudding (and I will take the liberty of saying that you should), do NOT leave out this sauce. Do not. It is essential.

This post has been so random,

Lauren

Caramel Praline Sauce for Bread Pudding

Adapted from famousdavesbbq.com

1 cups unsalted butter, cubed

3/4 cup chopped pecans

1 1/2 lbs light brown sugar

3/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 1/4 cups sour cream

3/4 teaspoons vanilla extract

Heat 1/2 cup of the butter in a large saucepan until melted. Add the pecans and mix well. Bring to a boil. Cook until the pecans begin to change color. This mixture will foam over, so use a large saucepan. Add the remaining 1 cup of butter and mix well. This will cool the pecan mixture and stop the cooking process. Remove from heat.

Combine brown sugar, whipping cream and cinnamon in a separate saucepan and mix well. Cook over low heat until blended, stirring constantly; increase heat. Cook to 230 degrees on a candy thermometer.

Stir in pecan mixture. Add sour cream and vanilla and mix well. Remove from heat.

Yield: 2 cups (I halved the original recipe and it still made a ton. No one complained. Pretty sure we had it the next day on ice cream.)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


