Pipe Dream #66: To Never Over-Bake – A Literal Pound Cake

A few things about this giant cupcake:

1) I am not particularly proud of the way it tasted.

2) I am definitely not proud of the way it looked. I had about 20 minutes, and I was totally messing around with leftover frosting.

3) It is giant, which is cool.

4) I remembered Anthony’s birthday, for which to make it. So.

5) My aunt gave me this baking tin for no reason at all except that she loves me. Thank you.

Pretty nifty, eh? It’s connected. Bulky in storage, but handy when you are actually baking. Which I was.

I was super excited to try it out, so of course I spent 10  hours researching the perfect flagship recipe. Not. But I did research the back of the giant cupcake tin box, which said that this pan was ideal for pound cakes.

You know, pound cakes? The dense, moist-y crumb that is made from a pound of butter, a pound of sugar, a pound of eggs and a pound of flour? Yeah, that pound cake. There are endless variations that deviate from the true thing. Who knows what they add, cream cheese, leftovers, sprinkles? True story, once I added pink sanding sugar as a secret ingredient to a meat marinade. The chicken turned out slightly pink. Anyway, I wanted to go legit, so I decided to try the original.

Basically, the recipe was not good for the pan. Maybe the recipe just isn’t good for any pan, but I can’t believe that, really. It’s a pound cake.

The bottom part of the cupcake did not bake as quickly as the top part, so the whole thing stayed in for too long. This was unfortunate, because as we know, over-baking is the most heinous sacrelige one can commit in regard to cake. It was pretty dry. In fact, I’m pretty sure if I had let it sit overnight, it would have been hard as a rock by the next morning. Also, the recipe did not make quite enough batter to fill the top part of the pan, which is one of the reasons that my frosting turned out so janked. Next time, I would scale up the recipe a bit to fill the pan. The cake won’t rise very much because the batter has no leavening agent in it; you can fill the pan as high as you want.

It was still birthday happy, though. Nothing chocolate cream cheese frosting couldn’t make up for. You heard me right.

Have fun with that pound of butter, now. :]

L

Legit Pound Cake

1 pound (2 cups) sugar
1 pound (4 sticks) butter, at room temperature
1 pound (9 large) eggs
1 pound (4 cups) all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325°F. In a large bowl, cream the butter with an electric mixer, then gradually add the sugar, continuing to beat until well creamed and smooth. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually add the flour and salt, beating constantly. Add the vanilla extract and continue beating until well blended.

Grease and flour a 10-inch tube, bundt pan, or giant cupcake pan. Pour in the batter and distribute the batter evenly. Bake until a tester inserted into the cake comes out clean, about 1 hour 15 minutes (I would check it at 40 minutes), taking care not to overbake. Turn cake out onto a rack and let cool.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


