I Got It Right: Caramel Pepper Bacon

What can I say about this except bacon? If caramel and pepper sounds like a weird flavor combination to you, please reconsider. It is excellent.

Additionally, this recipe is almost mess free (if you do better than I did and put aluminum foil under your bacon), and it makes a wonderful impression (if you do this better than I and use thick-cut nice bacon instead of fake turkey bacon). Perfect for the after New Year blues, but maybe not for the after New Year diet. Sorry.

It is perfect for those days, when all you want is a piece of toast and a whole lotta bacon. Which is what today is, because you’ve just read this.

Forever presumptuous,

L

Caramel Pepper Bacon

Adapted loosely from a recipe I saw at Craving Comfort

Lay the bacon on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, or on a wire rack in a baking sheet. I put mine straight on the baking sheet, which was a pain to clean later. Generously sprinkle first pepper, then dark brown sugar on the bacon. Place the baking sheet in a cold oven and set it to 400 degrees F. Bake for 12 minutes, then drain the fat from the pan. Return to the oven and continue baking until the bacon reaches desired crispness. I would check it about every three minutes or so.

96 Responses to “I Got It Right: Caramel Pepper Bacon”


  1. 1 gaycarboys January 3, 2012 at 1:19 am

    Sound great. Not good for the waist, but great anyway

  2. 2 FileSpnR January 3, 2012 at 1:34 am

    Try it on anything else, like turkey bacon?

  3. 4 The Henry Brothers January 3, 2012 at 2:26 am

    Living in Turkey – pretty much a bacon free zone – your post has awakened serious cravings – can’t beat a bit of bacon..and with caramel!! sounds lush.

  4. 5 culinaryease January 3, 2012 at 3:58 am

    I love this! I have tried and always forget about it and it burns. Thank you for the post. I may link to this on my site.

  5. 6 Shai January 3, 2012 at 4:33 am

    woah, pardon my drool.

  6. 7 GGG January 3, 2012 at 4:50 am

    Looks tasty

  7. 8 lushnosh January 3, 2012 at 5:10 am

    I’m not even a fan of bacon, but this is just ridiculously yummy. Perfect hangover cure!

  8. 10 Stephanie January 3, 2012 at 6:17 am

    I wonder if you put the bacon on a wire rack in the sheet pan if you could skip the “remove the bacon fat.”. (I like to do as little work as possible while cooking!)

  9. 12 Travelling Writer January 3, 2012 at 7:53 am

    om my!! just had my mongolian dinner and now, im hungry again!!! bwahehe… =P

    http://travellersdiningdepot.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/a-melting-pot-of-cuisines/

  10. 13 Vintage Central January 3, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Wow! I have never seen this before, so simple and yummy. Going to give this a try.

  11. 14 Mad Maude January 3, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Oh gawd. I read this just in time for breakfast. *hops off to the kitchen to try it out* I like bizarre flavor combinations, so this is right up my alley!

  12. 18 theprimalsexy January 3, 2012 at 10:30 am

    sweet bacon? how intriguing…

  13. 19 Tammy January 3, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Oooooh, I’m makin’ some! Thanks for the post!

  14. 20 Just A Smidgen January 3, 2012 at 11:41 am

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.. I’ve just found your blog and so glad that I did. Looking forward to this next year of posts:)

  15. 22 Go Send or Disobey January 3, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    I never could resist anything bacon… Yum!!!

  16. 23 Daniel January 3, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    I charcoal grill my “Sweet and Spicy Bacon.”

    Give it a try! The charcoal adds a great flavor!

    http://thesoutherntable.wordpress.com/2010/04/13/grilled-sweet-and-spicy-bacon/

  17. 24 Constance V. Walden January 3, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Interesting eats. Thanks for sharing this. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  18. 25 ashleyshomemadeadventures January 3, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Oh my… that looks delicious! Now I need to add bacon to my next shopping list :)

  19. 26 jlsalinger January 3, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks I’ll have to try this. It sounds delicious.

  20. 27 matthew January 3, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    The only way this recipe could be better is if you coated the final product with another layer of bacon.

  21. 28 deusnobiscum January 3, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Oh man, that looks so good.

  22. 30 flexi stirrup irons January 4, 2012 at 8:39 am

    I’m so going to try these! They look delic

  23. 31 trialsinfood January 4, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Looks good! I don’t doubt that caramel and pepper go well together, not after having tried chocolate with pepper.

  24. 32 deliciouslypsychotic January 4, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    You’re post has inspired me to share my own chocolate covered bacon recipe. I can’t wait to try this one next! I think my mom had a similar recipe for a zippy praline bacon. A little different but essentially the same and all together delicious. If you’d like to snag my recipe you can get it at papercanyons.wordpress.com
    thank you for sharing such a tasty looking recipe =)

  25. 34 dizzyzzeat January 5, 2012 at 4:18 am

    I tried it. You are right. It’s very good!
    Will write about it when I finish eating.
    Thanks for recommending! =)

  26. 36 customlightingmelbourne January 9, 2012 at 3:54 am

    I just ate and now after this post… I’m hungry.

  27. 37 mikstidbits January 9, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Mmm.. looks delcious! I will have to make that the next time I make pancakes to use as topping :)

  28. 38 foodventuresandotherstories January 9, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    This sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing.

  29. 39 Being 28 January 15, 2012 at 9:52 am

    Can’t wait to try this out!! Thanks and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  30. 40 Sindy January 15, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    As if plain bacon wasn’t already saliva inducing…! Thanks for a simple recipe to spice up bacon.

  31. 41 beefsupreme12 January 24, 2012 at 10:25 am

    One of my favorite restaurants has a thing called Praline Bacon. It is medium-crispy bacon with a praline spread on it. It gives the term “bacon is meat candy” a whole new meaing.

  32. 43 telefony May 22, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    We found many options on E-Bay for cheap. Do you need a high resolution camera or just
    basic one. Whether you’ve just upgraded to a newer model or you could do with some extra cash.

  33. 44 london cakes July 5, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Useful info. Lucky me I found your web site by chance,
    and I am shocked why this accident didn’t took place earlier! I bookmarked it.


  1. 1 So Much for the Diet « fresh and feathered Trackback on January 3, 2012 at 10:53 am
  2. 2 Quick Hits of the Week « A Bodey in Motion Trackback on April 19, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


