Pipe Dream #80: To Only Be As Integrious As Is Practical – S’mores Bars

I have been meaning to make these bars for a long time. “Bars”—the general term for anything baked in a 9×13 pan that is not a cake—are so classic Midwest, and s’mores are so dear to my heart. Having eaten these bars a number of times before at camp, I thought making them would be a highly palate-rewarding cinch. I was wrong, mostly.

I once told you that the key to baking is under-baking. While this is still a true statement, my dear Reader may note that I am sometimes prone to taking my own integrity a little too far. In the case of these bars, I took my own rule of thumb a bit past its purpose. I underbaked them.  By a lot. I was still getting used to the Celsius conversion convection oven, ok? Say ‘Celcius conversion convection’ five times fast.

But! Up from the ashes grew the roses of success (name that movie)! They still turned out to be super fabulous because my commanding officer told me I could put them over some spare clotted cream vanilla ice cream they had in the freezer. P.S. “Clotted cream” ice cream just means “really creamy ice cream.” It was awesome. Scooping 200 portions also gave me carpal tunnel, but that is another story for another day.

The dough was extremely sticky and hard to spread.  Megan, my lovely helper, was far better at spreading it than I. It is likely that I did not put enough dough in each pan, as the bars were a little thinner than I remember them. My calculations are all out of whack. I don’t know what I’m doing. Also, in my fluster I grabbed margarine, not butter. Someone please help me.

I would have preferred to have a few more chocolate chips and marshmallows to spread. Half of the marshmallows melted because they were weird English marshmallows, but they usually puff up and brown nicely.

The final result was similar to cookie dough ice cream with marshmallow sauce, which, as we all know, is the best possible thing you could be eating on a Wednesday night.

Hello, my love. It is so nice to know you.

L

S’mores Bars

Adapted from camp

Makes two 9 x 13 pan full of bars, or one large 2” jelly roll pan.

2 2/3 cup white sugar

1 3/4 cup butter

4 eggs

2 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons flour

2 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons graham cracker crumbs

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 cups chocolate chips (mini chips, preferably)

5 cups mini marshmallows

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray pan with non-stick spray (or you can butter the pan).

Blend sugar and butter until blended. Add eggs, beating until well mixed and creamy. Add the flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder and salt and mix until well blended.

Spread dough in pan and bake for approximately 10 minutes until set. And really, do bake it 10 minutes or suffer my fate. Bad news. Sprinkle chocolate chips, then mini marshmallows over the dough and return to the oven for another 10 minutes, or until marshmallows are puffed and slightly brown.

Cool and cut into bars. You may find it helpful to spray your knife with non-stick spray so the marshmallows don’t stick to it.

12 Responses to “Pipe Dream #80: To Only Be As Integrious As Is Practical – S’mores Bars”


  1. 1 Mia Ybarra-Klar January 16, 2012 at 11:52 am

    Yum, those look delicious. Wish I had the ingredients to make those right now. But we are having a blizzard here on the mountain, so I am stuck in the cabin, salivating : (

  2. 2 frugalfeeding January 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    Those look really awesome! So tasty. I love ‘bars’, even if we don’t make them too much here… Perhaps I shall create some ‘bars’ of my own.

  3. 3 Delightful Discoveries. January 16, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Smore’s seriously are the best..this would be dangerous for me.

  4. 5 Meghan Ann Carey February 13, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    Chitty-chitty bang-bang! I bit of a delayed response, I must say..

  5. 6 chase your dreams disney May 29, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    I hardly comment, however I looked at some of the comments on Pipe
    Dream #80: To Only Be As Integrious As Is Practical – Smores Bars | piping dreams.
    I do have a few questions for you if you
    do not mind. Is it simply me or does it look like some of these remarks come across like they are left by brain dead visitors?
    :-P And, if you are writing on additional online sites,
    I’d like to keep up with anything new you have to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of all your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  6. 7 7 July 4, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    Hello, the whole thing is going sound here and ofcourse every one
    is sharing information, that’s in fact good, keep up writing.

  7. 8 frases de buenos dias para mi novia hermosa June 20, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    What’sup friends, nice paragraph andd nice urging commented here, I am really enjoying by these.


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #122: To Doubly Appreciate Suggestion – Orange, Pine Nut And Dark Chocolate Biscotti « piping dreams Trackback on July 9, 2012 at 8:11 am
  2. 2 Pipe Dream #156: To Test Bless, Probs Less – S’mores Cookie Bars « piping dreams Trackback on December 5, 2012 at 9:06 am
  3. 3 Pipe Dream #188: To Appreciate Only – Cinnamon Nutella Biscotti | piping dreams Trackback on April 8, 2013 at 8:31 am
  4. 4 Pipe Dream #224: To Be the Awkardest – S’mores Butter Cake Cookies | piping dreams Trackback on October 14, 2013 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


