Pipe Dream #90: To Drink Tea Like Water

When people found out I was going to be in England, everyone talked about the tea.

“Oh Lauren, you’re going to have so much tea. They drink it all the time over there. And they’re teeth are discolored too. Have fun with the tea!”

And I thought, “Ok, chill out. You don’t even know anything because you have never been there, and it is probably just another one of those cultural stereotypes that has been blown up by the media.” (I am so jaded when it comes to “the media” sometimes.)

And then I got here and realized that it was true. What everyone said, I mean. People drink tea like water. Even the kids my age have 7-8 cups a day, and that is a conservative estimate. We drink tea with every meal and several times in between, typically black tea with milk and sugar if you care for it.

All I can think is, your bodies are probably not de-toxifying properly. I mean, water is supposed to get rid of all the impurities in your system, but it you’re hydrating yourselves with tea? You’re on the road to rotting innards, my friends. And I am on that road too, now that I drink that much tea.

So far, no one has died from tea-related decay here, so that is good. Kind of disappointing, actually. Wouldn’t that be a good story? And the other disappointing part of the massive tea consumption is the singular lack of tea parties. There has been one tea party. Granted, it was awesome, and we drank out of real Royal Albert teacups, but it has only happened once.

They drink so much tea that they don’t even care about it. The novelty has worn off. So where I would appreciate some novelty, they can’t be bothered.

I made my own fun, though, when I did some sugar cookies for the party. If you want the recipe, you can click here. I included a different icing recipe below, which I tried on these cookies. It was all right. I did it better the second time, but I didn’t take pictures. Ah well.

Ta!

L

Milk Icing

Adapted from allrecipes

1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons milk
2 teaspoons light corn syrup (or golden syrup)
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
assorted food coloring

Mix well and add more milk or sugar until you get the consistency you would like for dipping or painting. I used a spoon to spread too.

2 Responses to “Pipe Dream #90: To Drink Tea Like Water”


  1. 1 frugalfeeding March 5, 2012 at 11:38 am

    I drink tea like water, but not ‘proper’ tea… I prefer herbal tea etc… Our teeth aren’t discoloured because of it by the way…


  1. 1 Cookie Exchange: Dark Chocolate Sugar Cookies « piping dreams Trackback on December 19, 2012 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


