Pipe Dream #91: To Develop My Manners In Case I Ever Eat With The Queen – Pumpkin Cupcakes

I realize this cupcake looks like a cross between my brain on a Friday and a stylized flower. Unattractive.

I realize that this mount of spice looks rather unlike a mount of spice and instead looks more like a bit of carrot soup with someone’s beard shavings from an electric razor. Unattractive.

I realize that this looks like some puke caught in a bowl with lentils mixed in. Unattractive.

I realize that I love pumpkin a lot and post about it continually, and that I have extremely inadequate manners which I’m sure are the reasons you read my blog. Attractive.

But seriously, I don’t regret these at all. Despite looking awful in a bowl, these babies are gorgeous in a mouth. They are the cupcake version of every wonderful pumpkin cake slash bar you have had. Oh, and if you follow the frosting recipe I put below, yours won’t turn out like the gloppy mess I had. Go Germany!

Please and thank you,

L

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

Adapted from SweetandSavorybySarah

4 whole eggs
1-⅔ cup sugar
2 cups pure pumpkin puree
1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt

8 ounces, weight cream cheese, softened
½ cups butter, softened
2 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with liners if you are making cupcakes.

In a large bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, pumpkin and vegetable oil. Mix for a couple of minutes until it’s well mixed and some air is incorporated. Set aside.

In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

By hand, stir the dry ingredients in with the wet ingredients just until combined. There will be some lumps.

Pour mixture into a greased 9×13 pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

While the cake is cooling, make the frosting.

In a large bowl combine the softened cream cheese and butter. Mix on high until fluffy.

Add the confectioner’s sugar and mix on low until incorporated. Then turn on high and whip the heck out of it. Add the vanilla and continue to whip. I wanted a light and fluffy frosting so I had mine running on high for a few minutes after the ingredients were all added.

Once the cake is cool, frost the cake (or cupcakes).

2 Responses to “Pipe Dream #91: To Develop My Manners In Case I Ever Eat With The Queen – Pumpkin Cupcakes”


  1. 1 frugalfeeding March 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

    I can’t quite believe that you think they are unattractive… perhaps I have low standards, but I think they are exceptionally pretty.


  1. 1 A Lazy Recipe Roundup | piping dreams Trackback on March 27, 2014 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


