Pipe Dream #98: To Be Before My Time – Classic Cream Cheese Frosting

I think cream cheese was invented in America. I might have read that somewhere. Anyway, I can’t imagine Europeans inventing it. They like real cheese too much. Cream cheese feels like a processed cheese product of the American 50s.

Sometimes I wish I were born in a different era. I feel like I would fit in better in 1850 than I do now. Clothing from the 1950s makes me wish I were born then. Processed cheese products do not.

Please forgive me for the extremely pedantic explanation that is about to follow. I can imagine myself saying this in a really obnoxious encyclopedia voice:

Regardless of its humble beginnings, cream cheese has become a staple item in everything from dips to desserts. Most notably, perhaps, is its use as a frosting.

There are many frostings in this world, but none is so decadent as the cream cheese frosting. It is rich and flavorful and totally caloric. So, of course, everyone loves it. Especially birthday girls. I decided to try a giant cupcake again. Same problems as last time. Ah well. I can live my life without giant cupcakes.

The bonus of this frosting is that it is super easy to whip up, especially if you live in North America. It’s just two parts cream cheese to one part butter and powdered sugar enough to make it stiff. Snap.

I’m out,

L

Classic Cream Cheese Frosting

8 ounces (226 grams) cream cheese, softened

1 stick (113 grams) butter, softened

5 cups powdered sugar (more or less depending on the consistency you want)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Blend softened cream cheese and butter with a mixer. When the fats are well mixed, blend in the vanilla. Add the powdered sugar, one cup at a time, until the frosting is as stiff as you would like it.

5 Responses to “Pipe Dream #98: To Be Before My Time – Classic Cream Cheese Frosting”


  1. 1 Sharon Hedstrom April 9, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Nice piping! Looks delicious! ‘Puder Zucker’

  2. 2 Willamette Food Adventures April 9, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    I agree, the piping is excellent! So festive. And cream cheese frosting is almost my favorite.

    BTW, cream cheese is old European. It’s the prepackaging and 1/3 less fat that’s all-American. :)

  3. 3 nag champa incense sticks June 28, 2013 at 12:02 am

    As the admin of this web page is working,
    no doubt very shortly it will be famous, due to its feature contents.


  1. 1 Banana Bread: An Ode « piping dreams Trackback on December 11, 2012 at 9:03 am
  2. 2 abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships articles Trackback on August 30, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


