Pipe Dream #106: To Find Something “Too Rich” – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Blondies

Hello, dear friends.

This recipe is wonderful if you need to use up all of that canned pumpkin you have left over from, oh November. Personally, I buy canned pumpkin in March in case I have a craving. You know, one of those pre-fall cinnamon, nutmeg and pumpkin cravings. This recipe may seem a little off, given that summer is about to begin, but I make no excuses. I love pumpkin. I love blondies. Nothing is ever “too rich” for me.

Which reminds me. One thing that bothers me is when people say, “Oh, this dessert is too rich for me right now.” Like, they can’t eat it because it’s too heavy or sugary or something. I don’t really bother about the person’s opinion; it mostly just bothers me because it points out to myself that nothing is too rich for me. I’ll eat it all no matter the time or season or if I’ve just eaten the best fresh pasta with truffle cream sauce you ever saw. So I have no Richness Rectifier, and I’m jealous of people who do.

Returning from that rabbit trail. The key key key to these is to underbake them. Please just hear me on this. Underbaking is essential. No one likes a crispy blondie.

If you are perhaps feeling like these need a little more richness, please go ahead and pipe on a little bit of leftover cream cheese icing to make them look pretty. It’s what I would do.

That’s rich,

L

Oh p.s. you can find a walnut version of these blondies here.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Blondies

Adapted from How to Cook Everything, found at smittenkitchen

8 tablespoons (1 stick, 4 ounces or 113 grams) butter, melted

1 cup (218 grams or 7 3/4 ounces for light; 238 grams or 8 3/8 ounces for dark) brown sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla or 1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Pinch salt

1 cup (4 3/8 ounces or 125 grams) all-purpose flour

½ cup pureed pumpkin

½ to 1 cup chocolate chips

Butter an 8×8 pan.

Mix melted butter with brown sugar – beat until smooth. Beat in egg and then vanilla.

Add salt, stir in flour. Mix in pureed pumpkin, then mix chocolate chips.

Pour into the prepared pan. Bake at 350°F (180°C) for 20-25 minutes, or until set in the middle. Don’t overbake; always underbake. Cool on rack before cutting.

5 Responses to “Pipe Dream #106: To Find Something “Too Rich” – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Blondies”


  1. 1 Bert Tisher May 7, 2012 at 11:09 am

    I don’t know about you but I seem to gain weight just reading about these goodies. But what the heck, who cares…

  2. 2 herbalife February 18, 2014 at 8:27 am

    I read this article completely about the comparison of
    most up-to-date and earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.

  3. 3 software October 3, 2014 at 4:15 am

    Thanks for finally writing about >Pipe Dream #106: To Find Something Too Rich – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Blondies | piping dreams <Loved it!


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #158: To Cease Sugaring??? – Brown Butter Caramel Blondies « piping dreams Trackback on December 12, 2012 at 9:02 am
  2. 2 Pipe Dream #275: To Reduce Wrinkling – Gluten-Free Chickpea Blondies | piping dreams Trackback on June 11, 2014 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


