Rando Tuesdays: German Bakes

Since I’m back in the country and I have a bit more time, I felt I should go back to posting four times a week. I just have a lot of feelings (name that movie). Speaking of movies, one of the deep realizations I had about myself this past year at Bible school was that I only quote from three movies: Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and The Princess Bride. I don’t know why; I just know that it is true and that barely anyone my age knows quotes from those movies, which makes me one of those unfunny people who doesn’t know all the hilarious YouTube quotes/Will Ferrell quotes everyone quotes all the time. Whatever. I’m fine.

Anyway, this week’s Rando Tuesday is devoted to all the neat German bakery items I observed when I visited Nüremberg and Röthenberg. Every European country I visited had a different feel to its baked goods. In Germany, there were a lot of heavy breads and pretzels and things. This bakery was one of the famous ones in the area, and my sweet relative took me there one morning for breakfast.

We also had afternoon coffee and cake on days that we were out. I was in Bavaria, so there were a lot of cream cakes like this.

And also, basically every country I went to did croissants. I didn’t eat one here, though; I was saving it for France.

The other bonus about having foreign relatives is that they make a whole bunch of traditional, nice things for you. This is stollen, which is a traditional family Christmas bread. It was a heavy bread filled with dried fruits. Delectable!

Reveling in the random,

L

1 Response to “Rando Tuesdays: German Bakes”


  1. 1 Becky June 4, 2012 at 9:07 am

    My favorite quote-able movies are finding nemo and the holy grail. “help, help! I’m being repressed!” I feel so lucky that I know you well enough to hug you.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


