Tuesday Throwback Scotcheroos + School Programming

I have this problem. I think I’m still in school mode. I am finding myself unable to resist buying clothes and pencils. I’ve even thought about purchasing cute folders? Folders? Really? Of all the superfluous things I could be spending money on right now…

It’s something about anticipating the start of fall, I think, or perhapsanticipating the start of school. the problem is, I’m not in school anymore. I’m in work (I got a new job, p.s.). Which means I don’t just get to go out and buy clothes because fall is coming.

Here are some symptoms you may experience if you are still programmed for school-mode:

1) You feel this weird urge to buy three whole new outfits around the end of August. You take advantage of all the sales.

2) You start making peanut butter sandwiches all the time and buying single-serving snack items.

3) You start thinking about how you are going to reorganize your desk.

In honor of the recent start of school, I decided to post a little throwback recipe for you. Nothing new, nothing original, but I hope it will remind you of your carefree elementary school days, if indeed they were carefree. Mine were. My mom bought all my clothes back then.

I also did not care about the vast amounts of sugar I’m sure I consumed. These bars are full of it. Be aware.

And then ignore.

Try not to feel guilty if you eat four. It’s rice cereal, for heaven’s sake. :]

L

Scotcheroos

This recipe is so widely used, I don’t know who has rights to it. I’ve been making it by heart for years.

6 cups Rice Krispies Cereal or a generic brand (it’s cool)

1 cup light corn syrup

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup butterscotch chips

Combine corn syrup, sugar and peanut butter in  a large sauce pan over medium heat. Stir frequently until sugar dissolves and the mixture begins to boil. Remove from heat and add rice cereal. Stir until everything is coated and then transfer to a greased 9×13″ pan. Press lightly but firmly to even out the mixture and get it into all the corners. Don’t press it so much though. If you do, the bars will be rock hard.
Melt the chocolate and butterscotch chips in the microwave (30 second intervals and stirring) or in a saucepan over low heat, stirring frequently. Pour melted chips over the cereal mixture. Let it all firm up, then cut into bars. Have a glass of milk handy upon consumption.

0 Responses to “Tuesday Throwback Scotcheroos + School Programming”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


