Pipe Dream #141: To Be Perfectly Precise, A Question of Pride – Plum & Nutmeg Tart

I’ve gotta say. I worked pretty hard to make this look pretty. And I am pretty dang proud of it. Do you think all pride is bad? I hope this is pride in a good way, because I would have a really hard time repenting of this pride in my work. Maybe I’ll say I am really “pleased.”

Here’s why I’m so pleased: I have a hard time being so precise, usually.  Remember this galette? I had such naive aspirations about making the apple slices all picturesque and aligned just so. But after peeling dozens of wild apples by hand, I was kind of at my wit’s end with the whole project.

Not that I’m making excuses. Lack of precision is definitely one of my amateur baking flaws. I would say that I got it right on this plum tart, but before I actually post a Got It Right post, I want to test out any newfound precision skills. Once is chance. Two times coincidence. But three times is pattern.

The crust on this was some kind of wonderful. I added nutmeg into the recipe for a little bit of kick. It was just the right thing to do.

Love,

L

Plum & Nutmeg Tart

Adapted from Barefoot Contessa Parties!

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup finely chopped walnuts

3/4 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed

12 tablespoons cold unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), diced, plus 2 tablespoons for dotting

1 egg yolk

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 pounds firm, ripe Italian prune plums, pitted and quartered lengthwise

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Combine the flour, walnuts, nutmeg and sugar in a large bowl. Add the butter and the egg yolk. Mix until the mixture is crumbly and sticks together in clumps.

Press the crumb mixture in an even layer into the bottom of a 9 inch pie pan (or tart pan, as this is a tart. ha.). Arrange the plums in the pan, skin side down, to form a flower pattern; begin at the outside and work your way in.

Bake the tart for 20 minutes. At this point, I removed it from the oven and dotted a bit of butter over all of the plum slice. They were looking a bit dry. Return to the oven and bake for an additional 20-30 minutes or until it is lightly browned and the plum juices are bubbling. Remove from the oven and cool for 10 minutes. Remove from the pan and transfer the tart to a flat plate. Use a serrated knife to cut. Serve warm or at room temperature.

6 Responses to “Pipe Dream #141: To Be Perfectly Precise, A Question of Pride – Plum & Nutmeg Tart”


  1. 1 Sandi October 1, 2012 at 10:06 am

    This is gorgeous, Lauren!

  2. 2 Bert Tisher October 1, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    That looks yummy. I bet it tasted even better.

  3. 3 gemsfoodgems February 7, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    This looks delicious… perhaps on my evening menu for this evening!

  4. 4 Lauren February 8, 2013 at 9:36 am

    Oooh! Let me know if you end up making this! I would love to see pictures.


  1. 1 Merry Christmas! Cinnamon Roll Pound Cake + Recipe Ideas | piping dreams Trackback on December 18, 2013 at 9:02 am
  2. 2 Stone fruits cometh roundup + IRL messy vanity | piping dreams Trackback on May 14, 2015 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


