Pipe Dream #141: To Stop Swooning, Craving, Caving – Lemon Bars

Two Ina recipes in one week? Am I overwhelming you? Wait, why am I even worried about this? TWO INA RECIPES IN ONE WEEK.

Her recipes are the bomb. I’ve never had cable, so I didn’t know a thing about Ina Garten until I was in high school. I think that was when my mum bought me Barefoot in Paris. She has such an easy style about her, and her recipes are so classic and clean. I was inspired. I think her brioche was the first thing I ever baked on my own, actually.

I also love lemon bars something deep. This is Midwestern grad party food right up there with puppy chow and minted brownies. When I saw hers, I swooned, I craved, and then I caved and made them. A whole 9 x 13 pan. And then I ate half of the pan. And then cut the rest of the pan into weensy bits so I would have enough to take to both of my jobs. Lauren fail. But really.

These kept well, too. Make sure to cut them and sprinkle with powdered sugar only after they are totally cooled! I cut and sprinkled a little too early (another classic Lauren fail), and the sugar melted into the top instead of staying snowy. Also, the filling part of this recipe makes a lot of filling for the amount of shortbread. It’s great, but if you’re not the type for filling, I guess we can still be friends I guess you could halve it. Or 2/3s it.

Be well, friends!

Swooning, craving and caving daily,

L

Lemon Bars

From the Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

1/2 pound unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 cups flour
1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

7 large eggs at room temperature
3 cups granulated sugar
2 tablespoons grated lemon zest (4 to 6 lemons)
1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 cup flour
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

For the crust, cream the butter and sugar until light in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Combine the flour and salt and, with the mixer on low, add to the butter until just mixed. Dump the dough onto a well-floured board and gather into a ball. Flatten the dough with floured hands and press it into a 9 by 13 by 2-inch baking sheet, building up a 1/2-inch edge on all sides. Chill.

Bake the crust for 15 to 20 minutes, until very lightly browned. Let cool on a wire rack. Leave the oven on.

For the filling, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and flour. Pour over the crust and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until the filling is set. Let cool to room temperature.

Cut into triangles and dust with confectioners’ sugar.

4 Responses to “Pipe Dream #141: To Stop Swooning, Craving, Caving – Lemon Bars”


  1. 1 AJG October 3, 2012 at 11:14 am

    Nice job with those lemon bars!

  2. 2 cravesadventure October 3, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    I have got to make lemon bars – love these but never make them! Happy Hump Day:)

  3. 3 Sharon Hedstrom October 6, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Looks so YUMMY!

  4. 4 Joanna March 7, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    I’ve learn some just right stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make the sort of wonderful informative site.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


