Pipe Dream #142: The Time I Had Drool On My Face – Potato Cinnamon Rolls

Ooh, pretty.

Saturdays have actually become fun life for me. I don’t have time to have happy breakfasts during the week. This is mostly because I am flying out the door without shoes on, trying to balance my coffee, a piece of peanut butter toast, my bag and lunches for the week. I luxuriate over my breakfast during my hour-long commute. It’s all right.

I kind of have a history with this sort of behavior. I’m trying to pipe dream it out of me. Did this happen to you in university? My freshman year, I woke up to class starting in 10 minutes, threw on some shoes and busted out the door. Luckily, we were watching some sort of horrific advertising exposé, and I sat in class under the cover of darkness. However, upon my return to my dorm, I passed by a few friends on their way out. I waved and said hi, and they kind of looked puzzled, said hi and kept walking. I was concerned. I was a freshman, ok? I don’t know these people!

When I returned to my room, I realized why they had passed by so quickly. I looked…well, all I will say is that one side of my hair was grease-plastered to my un-makeuped head, and I literally, literally had a trail of drool extending from the corner of my mouth to my jawline.

I chatted with those friends at dinner that night, and it turns out that we were still friends. They just actually hadn’t recognized me. Oh my word.

Point of the story, my family and I have kind of made it a habit to tag team nice breakfasts on Saturday because everyone is around, and we actually have time. This Saturday was double special because my dearie aunt was here, the one who gifted me with this sweet giant cupcake mold.

I made cinnamon rolls, because I was desperate to redeem myself after the my somewhat disappointing Cinnabon Remix the other week. This new recipe was good! It is still not quite what I am looking for, and I biffed it by not adding enough cinnamon, but they were very soft and pillow-y. Definitely an improvement on last time.

Oh, and there was bacon. Definitely an improvement on last time.

Omnomnom,

L

Potato Cinnamon Rolls

Adapted from Tasty Kitchen

For the rolls:

2 teaspoons Plus 2/3 Cup sugar, divided
1 cup warm water
2 packages yeast, 0.25 ounce packets
4 whole eggs, beaten
⅔ cups melted butter
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup mashed potatoes
6 cups bread flour (I used all-purpose. So lazy.)

For the filling:

1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon
6 tablespoons melted butter

For the icing:

See here. Make this.

For the rolls, mix together 2 teaspoons sugar, warm water, and the yeast. Let stand for 5 minutes.

Mix together the rest of the roll ingredients in a large bowl and add the yeast mixture gently. Cover dough and let rise until double in size. (This usually takes around 2 hours.)

While the dough is rising, make the filling. In a small dish mix together the brown sugar and cinnamon. Once it’s finished rising, roll out dough in a rectangular shape to about 1/4 inch thickness. Spread with the melted butter and the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture. Roll up and cut into 1-inch slices. Place slices approximately 1 inch apart on a baking sheet greased with melted butter. Let rise for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20- 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Then spread with The Icing. And consume.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


