I Got It Right: Pumpkin Pie Dessert

This recipe has remained in my family’s cooking annals for years courtesy of one ‘Kris Scherer.” I don’t know who this is, but let’s just say I am very thankful that she is alive.

Since the beginning of college, I have made this recipe at least once every fall. I scaled it down this time because although my family is capable of I am capable of eating a whole 9 x 13 pan of this in a couple days, I figured I had better impose some limits in order to supplement my already tenuous self control in the matter of pumpkin pie dessert.

Now, there are a few reasons why this recipe is in the ‘Got It Right’ category of recipes.

1) It is extremely simple.

You literally dump everything in  a bowl, whisk it together, and top it with a box of cake mix, butter and nuts. Oh, and you bake it at 350. 350–easiest baking number to remember ever.

And now, for a small commercial break.

Oh, Cinnamon, pervader of all things autumn delicious. As one dude in my class at church said, “God, how would you even come up with something that tastes the way cinnamon tastes? How would you even conceptualize how delicious that is?”

A good question, my friend, a good question.

Back to our regularly scheduled programming.

2) This recipe is all the taste of your classic pumpkin pie, but without having to make a crust! I hate making crusts! So finnicky! And bonus, it replaces a crust with streusel and nuts. I mean, come on people. It deserves some love.

The above is the layering process I mentioned before, the result of which is…

Ok. Ok. I can’t even write this blog post. I think I need to go make this. K see ya,

L

Pumpkin Pie Dessert

by Kris Scherer

I halved the recipe and reduced the sugar a bit. Serves 9, approximately.

15 ounces pumpkin puree

2 eggs

6 ounces evaporated milk

2/3 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 box yellow cake mix

1 stick (8 tablespoons, 226 g) butter

4 oz pecans, chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Whisk together the pumpkin, eggs, evaporated milk, sugar, spice and vanilla until well blended.

Pour into an 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 baking dish. Sprinkle half of the box of cake mix evenly over the top of the pumpkin mixture. You can reserve the other half for next week when you make this again. Melt the butter and pour as evenly as possible over the top of the cake mix. Don’t worry if there are a few dry spots though.
Follow with the nuts.

Bake for 45 minutes on a center rack, but check it at 30 minutes. The center should be set and the top should be golden. If you find that the nuts are starting to toast a bit too much (aka burn), cover with foil to finish off the baking time. No one likes burned nuts.

Serve warm with a dollop of fresh whipped cream.

5 Responses to “I Got It Right: Pumpkin Pie Dessert”


  1. 1 Cindy and Tom Behling October 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Okay Lauren….Today’s post was downright subliminally evil…You know I have to run right out for the one and only missing ingredient, the cake mix!Who keeps cake mix in the house anymore when we usually follow your yummy homemade recipes? Gotta go, I have pumpkin purée and nuts kissing up to the butter on the countertop…waitin’ on that darn cake mix….Say “Hi” to your folks for me, and ask your mum if her ears have been ringing…her name has come up a lot lately re: piano lessons and Bible studies.

  2. 2 cravesadventure October 10, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    YUMMY – going to have to give this a whirl! Have a Great One:)

  3. 3 Lauren October 14, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    You are so sweet, Cindy! So glad you enjoyed it!

  4. 4 Lauren October 15, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    This was sooo amazing!!! I made in a 9×13 for my family. It was totally gone in 3 days! :)

  5. 5 Cindy and Tom Behling October 31, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    Tried this recipe, and found a bit of Valhalla here in Minne-soooota! Warm pumpkin with melty, buttery crumble on top…..Uff Da! Anyway, I was going to ask if you ever tried reducing the amount of butter to decrease the calories, but my SELF yelled out “what nonsense is that?!!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


