Pumpkin Week: Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

It’s still Pumpkin Week! Yay!

It’s also apparently smittenkitchen week, so, hope you can deal with that. I’m pretty sure if we met in real life, we would be insta-friends because every recipe she posts reads my stomach. And I’m powerless against making them. I had all these plans in mind for last Saturday’s breakfast, but all other options fled my mind when THIS came on the scene.

Given my recent obsession with finding a homemade cinnamon roll that lives up to the very high expectations I’ve somehow come by, I’ve been testing a very high volume of cinnamon rolls. See:

Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls

Potato Cinnamon Rolls

Seriously, though, I don’t know where I’ve gotten these overblown standards in my head for what a cinnamon roll should be like. I would say it was Toby’s on 35E, but the second time this fall that I sampled one, it was actually not good. It could have also been these rolls, which I made so long ago, that perhaps my memory of their maple-y goodness has risen to some lofty heights.

In any case, these did not quite take the cake for me. They were kind of dry. Meh. Still yum, though.

Update since I drafted this post: I think perhaps the key to these is baking them in a round pan all squished together. I tried them again a few weeks later–I had frozen the dough, letting the rolls thaw and rise overnight–and they turned out far better. Also, I underbaked them slightly. Try the round pans. Magic.

 

Eva seeking, neva sleeping,

L

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

You can find the recipe at smittenkitchen. Her pics are better, but I would have added more moisture into her adaption of the recipe. Not that I would know how to do that. More butter, anyone?

5 Responses to “Pumpkin Week: Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls”


  1. 1 Cindy and Tom Behling November 13, 2012 at 9:30 am

    If I invite you to visit my home at say….700 am on a Saturday for some girl talk….would you make these while we chat? Now, who do I know that makes a supreme latte….?

  2. 2 frugalfeeding November 13, 2012 at 9:46 am

    Beautiful! Those look so, SO good! Love the icing.

  3. 4 bethany November 13, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    These look delicious. Wish I could eat one right now!!! Love, Bep

  4. 5 http://www.dabber.com/ July 30, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    The crew compartment is about halfway back again and can house two mini
    figures. Somehow, the adults are also fascinated to have them for their own collection even when they
    no longer play with them. With so many different characters, the option to play the story as
    a villain, and so many activities to do on Lego Batman, it can be played over and over.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


