I Got It Right: Godfather’s Dessert Pizza Copy Cat

dessert pizza 5

I feel like a second-grader saying the phrase “copy cat,” but I have to be real, and this recipe is a copy cat. I didn’t want to “adapt” a recipe. I didn’t want to put a spin on a classic like so many real bloggers are good at doing. I just wanted Godfather’s dessert pizza now. In fact, if there had been a Godfather’s in my neck of the woods, I would have gone there and purchased some, but there isn’t, so I took the economical route and made my own. Luckily, this copy cat is so good that things worked out, otherwise I might have had to truck on over to the new Pizza Ranch for their dessert pizza, with which I am also obsessed.

I try to avoid Pizza Ranch at all costs. A couple summers ago, my sess and I visited a Pizza Ranch in Iowa on our day off and basically ate them out of house and small-town home. Ok, maybe not that extreme, but still. I had regrets.

dessert pizza 1

Guys, once you realize how easy this is, you are going to die. I used frozen storebought pizza dough. It was great. I’m sure you could make your own though. Just let it rise, sprinkle with butter/cinnamon/streusel and Shazam!

This comes out of your oven in 10 minutes:

dessert pizza 4

Are you dying yet? I try not to tell people what they “should do,” but you should be. It’s incredible, and just like you remember.

dessert pizza 6

dessert pizza 3

This picture is slightly inaccurate. I definitely had two pieces. And my family devoured the rest before the night was up. It’s what happens when you put in inch of struesel on a pizza. Heck, I’d eat a lot of things if they were covered in struesel. Bugs, even.

dessert pizza 2

Eating Pizza Ranch out of house and small-town home since 1990,

L

Godfather’s Dessert Pizza Copy Cat

Adapted from Rumbly In My Tumbly (aka best blog name EVER)

Boughten pizza crust (I was lazy)

3 tablespoons butter, divided

cinnamon

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup white sugar

1/8 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 tablespoon milk

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Mix together the brown and white sugars and flour in a small bowl. Add the oil and 2 tablespoons of butter, mixing with a fork until combined. The mix will look crumbly. Squinch it with your hands a few times to make some bigger chunks of streusel. Stick this bowl in the fridge.

Prepare the pizza dough according to package directions, letting it rise or whatever. Spray a non stick pan or pizza stone with non-stick spray and roll the pizza dough into a 12-14 inch pizza. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Melt the remaining tablespoon of butter, then spread it evenly over the rolled out dough. Give the dough a generous sprinkling of cinnamon. Generous. Spread this out if you want.

Take the streusel mix out of the fridge, and sprinkle evenly over the crust. Bake for 8-9 minutes, until the streusel just starts to brown.

While the pizza is baking, mix together the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. If the icing is too thin, add more milk. The icing should be pretty thick. Make a cone out of parchment or use a snipped off Ziploc to ice the pizza in a pinwheel pattern.

Serve warm, obviously.

6 Responses to “I Got It Right: Godfather’s Dessert Pizza Copy Cat”


  1. 1 Cindy and Tom Behling February 6, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Looking forward to the struesel-covered bugs post next…What? We are military after all, and have eaten similar in third world countries.

  2. 2 cravesadventure February 6, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Yummers – go with the coffee I am drinking:) Have a Great One!

  3. 3 bakearama February 7, 2013 at 6:37 am

    Pizza is my absolute favourite food (above anything sweet) – but one that’s like a cake… I think I’ve died and gone to heaven!

  4. 5 Catherine May 4, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    So, when you said “mix the sugars” I totally mixed the powdered sugar in with my streusel. Lol still tasted amazing, but maybe you should make that a little clearer on the recipe!

  5. 6 Lauren May 5, 2014 at 8:55 am

    Thanks! That is a great point. Fixed!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


