Pipe Dream #175: To Have a Whole Room Full of Cake Stands, I Guess – Lemon Ricotta Cookies

lemon ricotta 1

This post is mostly about this new cake stand. I got it on clearance at Target. It was an impulse buy.

But on the other hand, it was not an impulse buy, because I would say a pipe dream of mine is to have a whole room full of cake stands, so. Anyway, I’m ridiculously happy with it. Someday I’ll style it better.

lemon ricotta 2

And speaking of clearance, these cookies came about because I had some ricotta cheese to use up. Double frugal. I could have made blintzes or a pastry something savory (meh), but I decided to go cookies because they travel well. And I brought them to church for a potluck that was disguised as a meeting. This close to Valentine’s Day? I’ve practically checked that pipe dream off my list. Hello.

lemon ricotta 6

Other neat ingredients in this recipe:

Organic cane sugar

Organic lemon juice called ‘Italian Volcano,’ which I presume comes from lemons that are grown on an Italian volcano. You just don’t see that every day.

lemon ricotta 4

Nor do you see a random eggplant. I did not realize that was in the picture until just now. Welp. Welcome to real life.

lemon ricotta 3

Because I made an error and added too much butter as I was trying to halve the recipe, I decided to bump up the flour and sugar just a tad. I didn’t add more lemon, so it was good that these had a kickin’ glaze. The glaze is essential. Do not skimp. The cookies are soft and fluffy and not entirely flavorless on their own though. Ricotta will do that for you.

lemon ricotta 5

Cheers to cheery lemon and impulse buys,

L

Lemon Ricotta Cookies

Adapted from The Church Cook

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 stick (8 tablespoons)  butter, softened
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar (I used organic cane sugar)
1 whole egg
7.5 ounces ricotta cheese
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice (I used organic)
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl. Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes in an electric mixer. Add the egg, beating on medium speed until incorporated. Add the ricotta cheese, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Beat on medium to combine. Stir in the dry ingredients. Do not over mix.

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Spoon the dough (about 2 tablespoons per cookie) onto the baking sheets. Bake for around 12 minutes, until slightly golden at the edges. Remove from the oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

For the glaze, combine the powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest in a small bowl and stir until smooth. Spoon about 1/2-teaspoon onto each cooled cookie and use the back of the spoon to gently spread the glaze. Let the glaze harden for about an hour before storing the cookies.

12 Responses to “Pipe Dream #175: To Have a Whole Room Full of Cake Stands, I Guess – Lemon Ricotta Cookies”


  1. 1 frugalfeeding February 18, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    Double frugal? I should give up. Also, I have no idea what target is, but I like their cake stands!

  2. 2 Welcome Company with Danielle February 20, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    I too could have a roomful of cake stands. You are not alone. These cookies look wonderful and I think the random eggplant is a nice touch. I have some ricotta to use up, no volcanic lemon juice, but I can improvise.

  3. 3 Timbangan Kenko October 24, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Can you tell us more about this? I’d care to find out
    more details.

  4. 4 Castle Clash Hack Download March 28, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    I read this post completely on the topic of the resemblance of most up-to-date and earlier technologies, it’s remarkable article.

  5. 5 http://www.pinterest.com/pin/421227371369895782 March 29, 2014 at 10:26 am

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that
    it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Numerous people will be benefited from your
    writing. Cheers!

  6. 6 tryllekunstner July 15, 2014 at 7:05 am

    Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful article.
    Many thanks for supplying this info.

  7. 7 Non Veg Recipes September 12, 2014 at 10:31 am

    What’s up too every body, it’s my first visit of this web site;
    this blog contains awesome and really good information for readers.

  8. 8 food books September 22, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    Aԁmiring the time and energy yyօu ρuut іnto your site
    and detailed information yߋuu offeг. It’s
    awesopme to come across a blkog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashedd material.

    Fantastic read! I’ve ƅookmarked your ѕite and I’m icluding your RSS feeds to mmy
    Google account.

  9. 9 quickclick capacitive stylus December 9, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    Good post. I will be facing a few of these issues as well..


  1. 1 Merry Christmas! Cinnamon Roll Pound Cake + Recipe Ideas | piping dreams Trackback on December 18, 2013 at 9:01 am
  2. 2 TAG Heuer Formula 1 Trackback on July 9, 2014 at 11:08 am
  3. 3 Phytoceramides 350 mg Plant Derived Trackback on September 15, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


