Favorite Shots: What My Dad Made, A Daymaker

dad made

I was obnoxiously delighted to find chocolate-dipped coconut sugar cookies upon my return home one night. I talked about it for days. Here’s why:

  • My dad made them.

This is significant because:

  • My dad never bakes. Ever. I have literally never seen this. Not even a box mix.
  • No one put this idea in his head. He just decided on a whim to bake up some delicious treats.
  • AND THEY TURNED OUT SO GOOD.

Upon asking him why he was baking these, I received this delightful quote:

“I just wanted to do something nice for Mom. I saw these on Salt and Serenity and just had a craving. I couldn’t find unsweetened coconut though, so I just had to use sweetened. You wouldn’t believe all the things you have to do for this recipe. It says that the dough should chill for three hours, but I was like, ‘No way. I don’t have time for that!’ so I just threw the cookie sheet out on the snow for half an hour. It worked great!”

Now, my dad will occasionally forward me posts from Salt and Serenity, asking me to make whatever delicacy she has posted that day. I haven’t yet done it, and clearly he was ready to take matters into his own hands.

Still utterly, puzzledly delighted,

L

dadglasses 2

11 Responses to “Favorite Shots: What My Dad Made, A Daymaker”


  1. 1 peachesandpraline March 8, 2013 at 8:53 am

    Your dad sounds like the absolute sweetest man in the universe. Ever. Especially his reaction to the recipe specifications!

  2. 2 gemsfoodgems March 8, 2013 at 10:42 am

    How cute is your dad!? x

  3. 3 Saltandserenity March 8, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Tell your mom she is a very lucky woman and to hold on tight to your dad! How sweet is he? And smart too… I should have thrown my cookie sheet out into the snow to chill too! We have enough snow where I live. So glad the cookies worked out so well. They look lovely and what a great idea to dip them in chocolate.

  4. 4 bethany March 8, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    I love this post! Your dad is such a sweetheart :)

  5. 5 Renee March 8, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    I’ve known your father since 2nd grade, he’s just a big kid! He needs a blog like yours, only w juicing! lol

  6. 6 Sharon March 9, 2013 at 12:27 am

    I…can’t….even…….I love this!

  7. 7 chagrinnamontoast March 11, 2013 at 5:58 am

    Tell him he should try chocolate dipping shortbread.

  8. 8 Lauren March 11, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Saltandserenity–Thanks for the recipe! Love checking out your blog.

  9. 9 Lauren March 11, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Shar–Exactly my reaction haha. Love

  10. 10 aslansfriend March 13, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Wow! this is like getting 100 birthday wishes on your birthday from friends on Facebook.I jumped on over when Lauren said, ‘hey dad, check out my blog. They love you!’ Really! with the goofy glasses picture? Lol. regardless, thanks for all the lovin. As you know, I don’t have time to chill dough and read blogs so I read only two, piping dreams and salt and serenity , because she posted a response to Lauren quite a while ago, which I read, and followed her ever since then, since I found her well written , clever, and posting yummy food.
    the coconut cookies were actually a part of a larger valentines day list, which included a hand. ritten note in a card , a fancy box of Kirkland chocolates, a dozen roses, and a mystery picture ,which was supposed to be picture of a new bathroom tile floor being installed by yours truly. it was a big fail, because my wife thought it was a snowman zombie walking on an ice flow. So much for my drawing skills. However, she was excited that I was going to put in a new bathroom floor ,which actually has grown into a whole bathroom remodel of which I am currently about to begin tonight after ordering new double sink vanity from Costco. I guess love truly knows no limits. Lauren , you could break from baking to bathrooms , and do before and after shots. So proud of you to have been featured twice in WordPress, how often does that happen? And a shout out to the rest of you ; I now understand it baking is an art form of love. I know that I don’t have the patience time to put so much effort and detail into something that tastes so good , which you end up sharing with others. Hats off and big hugs to you all. Your efforts do not go unnoticed! Au revoir,


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #284: To Inspire All Kinds of Whoa – Chocolate Bundt Cake with Malibu Butterscotch | piping dreams Trackback on July 28, 2014 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


