Fancy Science Dinner Party + Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream

marsh night 2

There is a difference between being invited to dinner and being “invited” to make dinner. It’s kind of significant, because it’s one thing for someone to flatter you by saying say, “Let me provide dinner for you” and another thing entirely for someone to flatter you and then say “Please provide dinner for me.”

I have experienced both, and I have appreciated both, but somehow I like the former scenario a little better. (Where my ladies at?)  And I would like to tell you about my most recent “invited to dinner” experience because I think you would appreciate it. I appreciated it. The only thing I even contributed were the chocolate pecan florentines I showed you earlier.

marsh night 3

This dinner was neat because a bunch of people from my church got together for an evening, and we all made dinner together. As a group. That element is really important. It made doing the dishes fun. I mean, there was a real chef involved, and he kind of knew exactly what he was doing, but he let the rest of us novices help.

On the menu:

Citrusy Slaw Scallops (Hello.)

Sea Salt Coffee Caramels

Pop Rock Nutella Hazelnut Truffles (Read that again. As you can imagine, this was a total party-in-your-mouth moment.)

Chocolate Peanut Butter Strawberry Truffles (Rich.)

Bacon and Nutella Fluff (It gets real.)

Raspberry Sorbet

Jameson-Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream with Chocolate Pecan Florentines (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

marsh night 4

Dinner was science! Science was dinner! And dinner was delicious. And the toasted marshmallow ice cream? Well, let’s just say, I couldn’t have been more delighted. I just kept talking and talking about it, and scraping unsalvaged bits of melted marshmallow off wax paper. I couldn’t help it.

marsh night 1

Hopefully this gives you some dinner party inspiration for summer! It’s time to bust out the grill! Try a sparkly new cocktail! Kick back with your friends! I am using too many exclamation points, but I just can’t help it. There was toasted marshmallow ice cream.

Fondly,

L

3 Responses to “Fancy Science Dinner Party + Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream”


  1. 2 cravesadventure April 30, 2013 at 10:50 am

    What Fun – great captures – thanks for sharing! I have been thinking of getting a big beaker for decanting wine – the bar I go to has one – pretty neat idea. Happy Tuesday:)


  1. 1 DOUBLE BONUS: Humid GF Almond Peach Scones + GF Balsamic Strawberry Mint Scones | piping dreams Trackback on August 19, 2013 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


