Pipe Dream #202: To Stop the Show – Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

crepe cake 5

Did you know that lemons are always in season? This means two things: 1) This is technically a light “spring” crepe cake, but 2) you can make it any time you are feeling like a perfectly light, undeniably easy and downright show-stopping little number of a cake.

It is my joy to provide you with light, easy, show-stopping little numbers. Especially when you may be planning on hosting a brunch. Stay tuned for my handy guide to brunching, coming up later this week. (It likely won’t be helpful; don’t hold ya breath, Doris.)

crepe cake 2

And it is my particular joy that I didn’t make the crepes from scratch, meaning this cake was actually enjoyable for me to eat.

Well, who am I kidding? Most cake is enjoyable for me to eat, but I mean, after slaving away for hours, sometimes I feel the emotion of tired a little more than if I buy a slice of cake. Thus, this cake is two things: 1) the semi-homemade but 2) a treat for whoever makes it.

crepe cake 3

This is the second-best shot I took of the entire brunch. I love it.

It’s essential (read: freaking sweet) that you make this cake ahead of time. The paper-thin layers of crepe need time to meld with the creamy lemon mousse in the fridge. What goes into the fridge a delicate pile of smooshed crepes, comes out a sliceable masterpiece.

crepe cake 1

If I were to do this cake again, I would maybe double the mousse recipe and put more than a heaping 1/4 cup in between the layers. It would make the cake taller, and then I could eat more mousse.

And SIDENOTE OF IMPORTANCE:

Throwing a brunch might not be a complete cinch, but this lemon curd recipe that I used in the lemon mousse sure is. You make it in the microwave. It takes five minutes. Could life get better?

(Once I posted a recipe for lemon curd. It is a great recipe. No microwave, but no sieving, either, so you can make your choice, I guess.)

crepe cake 6

Like I said, a sliceable masterpiece. Who knew show-stopping could be so easy. Stop the show. Start the applause. I’ll be making one of these babies again soon.

crepe cake 4

Bravissim-ink,

L

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Inspired by Martha Stewart

30 8-inch crepes (I used storebought ones for convenience, but they didn’t taste great)

2 cups prepared lemon curd (I doubled this recipe.)

2 cups heavy whipping cream, cold

3 tablespoons powdered sugar.

2 teaspoons powdered gelatin

2 tablespoons cold water

powdered sugar and blackberries, for garnish

Whip the cream in the stainless steel bowl of an electric mixer until soft peaks form. Add the powdered sugar, one tablespoon at a time, until stiff peaks form.

Put the two tablespoons of cold water into a small bowl and sprinkle the gelatin over top. Let this stand for a couple minutes until the water is absorbed. Place the  bowl in the microwave and heat on high power for 30 seconds, until the gelatin has liquefied. Beat this into the whipped cream until just combined.

Fold the whipped cream into the lemon curd until just combined, and refrigerate until ready to use.

To assemble to cake, place a crepe on a serving platter. Top with a heaping spoonful (maybe 1/4 cup) of the lemon mousse and spread in a thin layer to about 1/2 inch away from the edge of the crepe. Top with a crepe and repeat until all the crepes have been used. Once the final crepe is placed on the top of the cake, refrigerate until firm, about an hour.

Just before serving, garnish the cake with a sprinkle of powdered sugar, fresh berries, or any reserved whipped cream or lemon curd. Or top with all of the above.

39 Responses to “Pipe Dream #202: To Stop the Show – Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake”


  1. 1 petal and plume June 18, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    hi lauren! i am joyce’s friend, ally. we emailed a bit a few months back! girl can i just say your blog is incredible! you are so talented and lovely to the bone. thank you for sharing your creative heart! never stop :) lots of blessings to you!
    xx
    ally

  2. 2 Lauren June 18, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    ally- you are so sweet! thank you for being so kind; so glad the blog is a blessing.

  3. 3 stamped concrete February 26, 2014 at 12:06 am

    I’m not sure exactly why but this weblog is loading incredibly
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a
    issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  4. 4 stamped concrete February 26, 2014 at 12:08 am

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up and the
    rest of the website is also very good.

  5. 5 Tactical survival knife March 14, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    Hello everybody, here every person is sharing these kinds
    of know-how, thus it’s fastidious to read this website, and I used to visit this web site everyday.

  6. 6 пидар April 14, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation but I to find this topic to
    be actually one thing that I feel I’d by no means understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and extremely vast for me.
    I’m having a look forward in your next put up, I will try to get the dangle of it!

  7. 7 c720 chromebook April 14, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    That’s why I’ve arrived at every one of these
    stores (their websites) and discovered some very nice deals
    for my readers to look at for themselves. In general, every time a woman plays
    along with her hair it implies she’s interested. They are constantly attempting to become more which is the reason
    I’m committed to giving the Pixel this extended trial.

  8. 8 mercedes­benz gla 45 amg April 20, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    Having read this I thought it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this content
    together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and leaving
    comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  9. 9 laptopcomputerreviews.site44.com May 10, 2014 at 12:31 am

    The most of airlines do not allow that you activate the Wi-Fi function at all in
    the course of the flight, all over again you should
    verify with all the flight workers if uncertain.
    You usually takes benefit from Bluetooth technology using the integrated Wireless-N Wi – Fit network.
    The Logitech Z305 laptop speaker can be built with built-in cable storage at back, reducing
    clutter whenever you carry it around.

  10. 10 luminist ole henriksen life eye gel reviews May 13, 2014 at 5:30 am

    Finee way of telling, and fastidious article
    to take information on the topic of my presentation subject matter, which i am going to deliver in school.

  11. 11 best liquid diet plan May 14, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    After 2 months of age, bottle fed babies should be offered a bottle 4
    to 6 times a day or more often if the baby demands it and will gradually increase to
    eating 6 to 8 ounces of formula per feeding. They should
    maintain their figures just like other people, then there is more pressure on their part being that they
    are constantly in the general public eye.
    For the most part, metoprolol side effects are relatively uncommon, but can be serious.

  12. 12 2 week liquid diet May 14, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    Despite being basically the same, we have different body types, health issues, weight issues, lifestyles, and environments.
    Looking at labels on packages is of crucial importance while on an ideal
    fast weight loss plan. And all it will take to do is to
    realize carbohydrates.

  13. 13 hydraulic tube fittings June 4, 2014 at 12:29 am

    Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this
    site with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying
    the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this
    to my followers! Superb blog and amazing style and design.

  14. 14 kostenloser livecam chat ohne anmeldung June 19, 2014 at 3:11 am

    This site certainly has all of the information I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  15. 15 yacon syrup glycemic June 30, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you’re talking about!
    Bookmarked. Please additionally vissit my web site =).
    We will have a hyperlink exchange contract amjong us

  16. 16 what is a paleo diet menu July 5, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at web, except I know I am getting familiarity everyday by reading thes good articles or reviews.

  17. 17 Prescopodene Read customer reviews July 9, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and
    I was curious abou your situation; majy of us have created some nice practices andd we are looking to exchnange methods
    with others, be sure to shoot mee an email iff interested.

  18. 18 natural alcohol detoxification July 26, 2014 at 4:23 am

    To me it’s Spring everlasting, so that it is more mysterious than innocent”, says Miriam. Meanwhile, over in Germany, just a little shop in Cologne was working on an easy citrus scent that might become more widely distributed. He believes that we each experience smells differently.

  19. 19 Dieter July 27, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    Also, when you forgive your ex, they will start thinking about the things that they did wrong
    to you, and will feel even guiltier, and in turn will try and get rid
    of this feeling by trying to get you back. Those are definitely qualities that you should seek to cultivate if you want
    to get your ex girlfriend back and have her stay for a
    long time. In order to know how to acquire old girlfriend back again, keep clear of the women it is that
    straightforward.

  20. 20 Brianna July 30, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    I pay a quichk visit every daay some websites and
    websites to read articlews or reviews, however this webpage gives quality
    based articles.

  21. 21 http://support.planbtravel.com.au/entries/42295495-Deciding-Upon-Straightforward-Secrets-For-Get-Your-Ex-Back July 31, 2014 at 12:39 am

    With a little bit of prying, he’ll give you a marker for the weapons stash in Derelict Row,
    the location of the murder weapon and the location of the witness
    that you need to secure. If you aren’t sure what the best
    way to go about getting him back is, don’t worry. This will be hard
    for you to do, but if the other person doesn’t know how you feel then how will they
    have any motivation to get back with you.

  22. 22 Clint August 1, 2014 at 6:28 am

    Also, when you forgive your ex, they will start thinking about the things that they did wrong to you, and will feel even guiltier, and in turn will try and get rid of
    this feeling by trying to get you back. Don’t Take Your Ex
    Boyfriend’s Lack of Contact as a Sign of Rejection. This
    will be hard for you to do, but if the other person doesn’t know how you feel then how will
    they have any motivation to get back with you.

  23. 23 how to get her back for good August 16, 2014 at 2:31 am

    I certainly don’t advise you to be come a jerk, but you
    could think about the fact that having a solid value for yourself is attractive to your partner.

    Those are definitely qualities that you should seek to cultivate if you want to get
    your ex girlfriend back and have her stay for a long time.
    Most adults have experienced a break up sometime during their life, and most of the time they just
    learn how to move on.

  24. 24 Cat Breed Pictures August 16, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a sea shell and
    gave it to my 4 year old daughterr andd said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put
    thee shell to her ear and screamed. There was
    a hermi crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off toplic but
    I had to tell someone!

  25. 25 Stamped concrete ma August 18, 2014 at 4:21 am

    Quality articles is the important to interest the viewers to isit the web
    site, that’s what this weeb site is providing.

  26. 26 youtube.com August 30, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    The device allows the user to make video calls through the secondary 1.

    There is a comprehensive range of camcorders manufactured by Canon.

    They have a wide range of models however to also include smaller toolboxes for home use.

  27. 27 Patria M. Gobler September 23, 2014 at 3:26 am

    I like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and exposure!

    Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.

  28. 28 mythirtyspot.com September 23, 2014 at 7:02 am

    I believe this is one of the most vital info for me.

    And i am satisfied studying your article. However want to statement on few
    common things, The web site taste is wonderful, the articles is in reality excellent :
    D. Excellent job, cheers

  29. 29 Tanika W. Poehler September 23, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  30. 30 Gene E. Ernspiker September 28, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  31. 31 soccer wallpaper September 29, 2014 at 3:34 am

    This is why people dont easily share their flags for
    a collection. After payment is received, the package will be mailed within one to two days.

    The last kind of soccer betting odds that one might come across is the
    American odds.

  32. 32 Mamie P. Dobler October 2, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    I’m not certain where you’re getting your info, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or working out more.
    Thank you for excellent information I used to be on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  33. 33 Corinna G. Egizi October 8, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  34. 34 cool wallpaper October 9, 2014 at 6:55 am

    In this guide, you will find 10 really awesome surfing backgrounds you can use for free.
    One way to go is to check with your local bank
    to see what your options are. It is relatively easy to learn how
    to hang the paper correctly but it takes
    patience and attention to detail, especially if
    you are hanging patterned wallpaper which requires matching at the seams.

  35. 35 Cycling Blog October 10, 2014 at 9:01 am

    This post is worth everyone’s attention. When can I
    find out more?

  36. 36 jual lift barang February 9, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Helpful info. Lucky me I found your web site unintentionally, and I’m
    stunned why this accident didn’t took place in advance!
    I bookmarked it.


  1. 1 any games hacks Trackback on September 20, 2014 at 8:07 am
  2. 2 Electronic Keyless Door Trackback on September 20, 2014 at 3:36 pm
  3. 3 estate planning attorney woodbury mn Trackback on September 21, 2014 at 10:13 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


