Pipe Dream #206: To Be a Mere Vessel – Puppy Chow Bars

puppy chow bars 2

I’ve never posted about classic puppy chow before. I mean, sure, ages ago I tried out a lemon version, but I’ve since given up trying to make a dent in the 10,000 possible flavors you can lacquer onto rice. Rice is like dry tofu, flavorless and kinda gross on its own, which makes it indubitably versatile. In the case of puppy chow, rice cereal functions as a vehicle to transport peanut butter and chocolate from a bowl to my mouth without too much shame. (I feel like there is a “treasures in jars of clay” reference here in which I am the rice cereal and the Gospel is chocolate and peanut butter, but I can’t quite flesh it out, ah well).

puppy chow bars 1

And now, with the introduction of puppy chow in bar form, I have provided you with an even simpler way to do so. Aren’t you glad?

Amp up the powdered sugar for a more traditional level of p chow sweetness. I wish I had marshmallows on hand to make this a sort of Rice Krispy treat/puppy chow hybrid, but I didn’t. I think it might make the bars hold together a little better. I stuck these in the fridge for a bit before slicing to make things as clean as possible, but they still looked average. Story of my life.

puppy chow bars 3

Simply,

L

Puppy Chow Bars

Adapted from Dinners, Dishes & Dessert

1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup peanut butter
6 cups Corn Chex, Rice Chex or Rice Krispies cereal
powdered sugar

Line a 9 x 13 inch pan with aluminum foil. Place the cereal in a large bowl. Microwave the chocolate chips and peanut butter in a medium bowl, stirring every 30 seconds until melted. Pour the mixture over the cereal and stir to combine. Dump the mix into the prepared pan and press down with a spatula to form into bars. Let cool completely. Before serving, dust with powdered sugar. Slice into bars. You may want to stick the whole pan in the fridge before slicing to get the cleanest cuts.

31 Responses to “Pipe Dream #206: To Be a Mere Vessel – Puppy Chow Bars”


  1. 1 funny puppy pictures November 7, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.

    Cheers

  2. 2 the advantage December 1, 2013 at 8:02 am

    I’ve been pondering whether to sell my car for quite a while now.
    And I really struggle to hear about great car
    buyers in the local area – well, until I came across a reputable
    group of car dealers.
    See trusted car buyers are quite tricky to come across
    on the Internet these days – unless of course, you know where has been
    approved.

  3. 3 car sale January 22, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    Alright fella, really superb piece of writing.

  4. 4 best online car buyer January 22, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    I hope you don’t mind I’m favouriting your web site.

    Really can’t wait to call back!

  5. 5 deam car January 28, 2014 at 11:41 pm

    Your design is beautiful. This makes all the difference when spending time on a blog.
    You’ve got me returning for You’ve definitely got my seal of approval.

  6. 6 cash cars bedfordshire February 4, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    Your design is a real gem. Boy, does it make a huge difference when spending time on a blog.

    Well, you’ve definitely got me coming back for You’ve definitely got my
    seal of approval.

  7. 7 junk motor buyers bedfordshire February 6, 2014 at 12:53 pm

    I hope you don’t mind I am favouriting this blogsite.
    Really look forward to popping back.

  8. 8 we buy any motor durham February 9, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    I read through lots of blog pages, still yours is a
    pleasure to read through.

  9. 9 understanding online reputation management March 7, 2014 at 2:32 am

    In today’s day and age it doesn’t take much for an individual to go only to leave anonymous negative
    reviews and comments on your business. Staying ahead of your brand is imperative as an ongoing part of
    your online presence management campaign. The CEO resigned right after the breakup, leaving AA
    and its accountants under the leadership of
    a managing partner named Joseph Bernardino.

  10. 10 gollumelite April 1, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other
    blogs? I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss and would really like to have you
    share some stories/information. I know my subscribers
    would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel
    free to shoot me an email.

  11. 11 рукоблудие April 14, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    We absolutely love your blog and find almost all
    of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write
    content for you? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on most of the
    subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome
    site!

  12. 12 http://www.youtube.com/ June 6, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Really love browsing your blog. Have you any sort of easy methods to set up
    one?

  13. 13 youtube.com June 6, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    Do you have any kind of tips on setting up a blog? I’m extremely tired of doing the same old thing at the office and
    want something mroe challenging.

  14. 14 http://toris-auto-blog.tumblr.com/ June 12, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    You’re an amazing copy writer. I’ve join the mailing
    list for your blog site because I’d rather not miss your upcoming articles or blog
    posts

  15. 15 http://www.tropicalflavours.org June 30, 2014 at 7:37 am

    There might also be an look of whitish or grayish patches, all more than the nail.
    They shed it when they experience severe individual hardships.
    Nevertheless, this represented a nine%25 decrease from the previous yr.

  16. 16 www.twitter.com July 10, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    Really love reading your website. Have you any methods
    to set one up??

  17. 17 https://twitter.com/ July 12, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    Thanks forr a real well-written piece. Makes me want to crack operating a blog again. Any sort of tips of how greatest to get going…

  18. 18 http://my-amazing-car-blog.tumblr.com/tagged/mercedes July 12, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    Really enjoy scanning your website. Have you any specific tips about how to set one up.

  19. 19 www.facebook.com July 15, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    Thanks forr a real well-written post. Really makes me think about making a crack running
    a blog one more time. Pretty much any assistance about how best
    to get planning???

  20. 20 selling vehicle August 1, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    Thank you for that superb blogpost. Truly interesting.

  21. 21 Todd Essex April 26, 2016 at 9:09 am

    I know this website gives quality based posts and other material, is there any other web page which presents these kinds of data in quality?

  22. 22 Berenice Elizabeth August 2, 2016 at 10:03 am

    In addition to music, it also offers games for downloading respectively. Go to these sources and download audio mp3s into that folder. If we think about the fact that the common size of a melody is three MB, it outcomes that precise flash memory players can retailer between 80 and 1200 melodies.

  23. 23 Gayle Cardenas October 2, 2016 at 11:24 am

    Now a worthy lady, kind, warm, humorous, safe, is worthy of marriage to such a great man, but, let’s say she wanted to save intercourse for marriage, so the great men she meets don’t need to wait, so now even though she’s a worthy woman, she DID squander her opportunities.

  24. 24 Dell Perron October 6, 2016 at 3:34 am

    Learning or having probably the most out of purchase Erectile Booster Method critiques may be an advantageous delight to all or any who be part of us.

  25. 25 Christen Bar January 8, 2017 at 9:31 pm

    First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thank you!

  26. 26 Gabrielle Barreto March 8, 2017 at 4:34 pm

    Pretty! This was a really wonderful article. Thank you for providing this information.

  27. 27 Darrel Bushell March 12, 2017 at 1:46 pm

    Chicago’s largest Content Marketing occasion took place in downtown Chicago at Gleacher focus on August 3rd and 4th.

  28. 28 Julio Wedge March 24, 2017 at 5:41 am

    It’s really a nice and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  29. 29 Romeo Roden March 27, 2017 at 2:05 pm

    I delight in, result in I discovered just what I was taking a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  30. 30 João Eduardo Castro April 3, 2017 at 4:03 pm

    Enfermidades ocorridas de forma neurológicas como trauma medular, paralisia cerebral e AVC podem originar joanetes nos pés.


  1. 1 pc ieftin Trackback on July 18, 2014 at 4:47 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


