Pipe Dream #229: To Suss Out Every Lingering Thing – Dimply Plum Cake

plum cake 2

This is not an extremely embarrassing story, but it is a “pain-of-my-heart” story. I’ve never shared before, so please keep this to yourself. I feel that it will be cathartic for me to share one of my more anguished high school experiences. This experience has probably shaped the woman I have become more than last week’s lunch breaks.

One of the worst food times I ever had was with a stone fruit. I brought a plum to Pier One to eat on my lunch break. It was plum season, and I was looking forward to it.

Bite, chew…?

And then I looked down and saw that what looked like a perfectly beautiful plum on the outside was rotted, brown and mealy on the inside.

(There is a Lady Wisdom/Lady Folly reference here; I know it.)

And in the privacy of the back room, I flipped out and spit chunks of plum everywhere while making “Mwlah ah ah” type sounds. And then I suffered disappointment because my reality failed to live up to my expectations. It was dramatic, but have you come to expect something different from me?

(Unless you text me, and think that I seem really boring and flat and non dramatic. Because I’ve gotten worse/lazier at texting since I’ve aged and can’t be bothered to try wit when I’m trying to correct my autocorrect. T9, why don’t you exist anymore?? Your death is my bane.)

plum cake 3

 

Ok, now that that is all out on the table, while I am waiting for the magical results of that cathartic typing, I would like to take another moment to say that this cake is not for plums like that.

plum cake 5

 

It is for beautiful, rich, colorful plums with no deceit in them.

plum cake 1

plum cake 4

You are welcome. And please…No one knows this story but you. Please keep it to yourself.

L

A Small Dimply Plum Cake

Adapted from Serious Eats

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon ground cardamom
3 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
1/3 cup (packed) light brown sugar
1large egg
2 tablespoons flavorless oil, such as canola oil
grated zest of 1 orange
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 plums, halved and pitted

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter an 8-inch square baking pan, dust the inside with flour, and tap out the excess.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and cardamom.

Working with a mixer, beat the butter at medium speed until it’s soft and creamy, about 3 minutes. Add the sugar and beat for another 3 minutes, then add the eggs, one at a time, and beat for a minute after each egg goes in. Still working on medium speed, beat in the oil, zest and vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing until they are just incorporated.

Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top. Arrange the four plums halves cut side up in the batter, jiggling the plums a tad just so they settle.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the top is honey brown and puffed around the plums and a thin knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Transfer the cake to a rack and let cool.

This cake keeps at room temperature for up to 2 days.

4 Responses to “Pipe Dream #229: To Suss Out Every Lingering Thing – Dimply Plum Cake”


  1. 1 bakearama November 4, 2013 at 11:04 am

    My parents used to have a plum tree in the garden; I never saw one myself but my mum told me she always used to cut them in half before eating as some had maggots in. It’s put me off permenantly!

  2. 2 LFFL November 11, 2013 at 11:23 am

    What a great dessert.

  3. 3 Lauren November 11, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    Yes–it was delish!


  1. 1 Stone fruits cometh roundup + IRL messy vanity | piping dreams Trackback on May 14, 2015 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


