A Pastry Delayed – Cossetta’s

20131125_144435

Welcome to another episode of ‘Lauren Eats Pastries.’ So glad you could join.

20131125_153818

In this episode, I will be eating several full-size pastries from St. Paul landmark, Cossetta’s. It’s a combination Italian eatery and grocery, recently remodeled to include a fine-dining restaurant and a pasticceria. Needless to say, ever since I found out about the promise of REAL LIVE ITALIAN PASTRIES so close to me, I have been pining to check it out. So I took the best lunch break ever with my best cousin and ate pizza and pastries.

20131125_133259

20131125_144005

Ain’t she saweet? Cakes to break your heart.

20131125_153522

May I also present to you…the lobster tail.

I saw an episode of Cake Boss once that detailed the making of these monstrous flaky pastries, and I’ve craved one ever since. The dough is rolled out ultra-thin and then somehow wrapped together so the dough has these tiny little layers. I assume this is the same technique as used for sfogliatelle (which Cossetta’s also had). The difference is that sfogliatelle are filled with a sort of hardened citrus filling, while lobster tails are stuffed full of a vanilla pastry cream. So much cream. Cream dreams come true.

20131125_144248

I also decided on this trip that I will never need to eat a cannoli again. So there. I said it. The shells are always chewy and the filling is never sweet or flavorful enough. Maybe that is the point? But I just find them boring.

20131125_144517

20131125_153708

While the presentation of the mango mousse was interesting (if a little sloppy with the fruit), I felt it was a little dry. The mod joconde was the coolest part., and the center jelly was intensely mango.

20131125_144340

The pastries I sampled at Cossetta’s were the closest thing to authentic Italian pastries I’ve had in the States, easily. Despite the fact that I tried lobster tail, the name of which decries its inauthentic origins, the tiramisu was as good as I’ve had. And you guys. The lobster tail.

Goodnight,

L

2 Responses to “A Pastry Delayed – Cossetta’s”


  1. 1 Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat December 19, 2013 at 11:20 am

    The pastries are pieces of art. I don’t know if I could eat them. Then again, I’m sure I could get past that. They look fantastic.

  2. 2 Bethany B. December 20, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    This is so smiley.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


