FAIL WEEK: Get Off Your Hi Hat Cupcakes

mini hi hats 2

Hello again. Let’s all participate in another little January cleanse, not the green smoothie variety, but one in which I can clear my photo archives of all the recipes I couldn’t bear to post but that remain to glare at me and highlight my underachievements of the past year. By way of confession, I present: FAIL WEEK. A whole week full of fails (self-explanatory, sorry.).

mini hi hats 4

Ah, hi hats. How you plague me. I tried these once in high school, using a Martha Stewart recipe that probably works great if you don’t overfill the liners and have an exploded mess of cupcake coming out of the oven. It was a massive pile of fail then, and totally delicious.

I keep coming back to them because the idea of a huge swirl of marshmallow covered in chocolate is an idea too tantalizing to ignore for very long. It’s like eating a softer version of the seasonal Russell Stover marshmallows. So goooeeey.

Plus, hi hats are an actual technical challenge. How does the marshmallow manage to stay on the cupcake while being dipped in chocolate? What if the chocolate is too stiff and the marshmallow falls right off? Will I be forced to dig the fallen chocolate marshmallow mess and consume it to salvage the rest of the chocolate?

Questions worth answering, my friends. Questions worth answering.

mini hi hats 4

So of course, the next time I attempted these I was in a rush, and didn’t realize that I actually did have the hand mixer needed to do the frosting properly. I tried a frosting recipe that wasn’t quite right, and it didn’t set up into the big swirl as it should have, and I was forced to dip flat-topped cupcakes.

mini hi hats 3

One question was answered, however. Somehow, the marshmallow does stay atop the cupcake.

Someday we will meet again.

Charming, the third time around,

L

0 Responses to “FAIL WEEK: Get Off Your Hi Hat Cupcakes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,947 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


