One Great Reason to Remain Single: Caramelized Garlic and Goat Cheese Tart

cheese tart 2

cheese tart 3

I could go on and on about how flavorful, rich and savory this birthday tart was (for my dear mum, as it were), but before I do so, I would like to issue a warning.

cheese tart 4

cheese tart 1

This tart includes three whole heads of garlic. 40 CLOVES. You may have seen other recipes including this level of flavor, like this Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic or this Garlic Soup. Having made a few of these before, I wasn’t worried about 40 cloves. Small stuff, really.

cheese tart 5

But let me tell you. I have never experienced the direct consequences of this level of garlic in my life before. I was waking up in night sweats reeking of garlic. It meant spending the next day nearly doubled up in my desk chair with insides squeaking and popping, threatening to unleash their tumultuous wrath. It was coming home after work, walking in my room and still smelling the effects.

IMG_20131017_195551

But also let me tell you, this far after the incident, I am not experiencing any kind of regret. It was one of the most delicious things I have ever made, and I count it among my Top 10 Best Reasons To Be Single.

That’s right,

L

Caramelized Garlic and Goat Cheese Tart

You can find the recipe on marthastewart.com. I used dried rosemary and thyme instead of fresh, sour cream instead of creme fraiche and used Manchego, a hard sheep cheese, in place of the hard goat cheese.

6 Responses to “One Great Reason to Remain Single: Caramelized Garlic and Goat Cheese Tart”


  1. 1 Auntie Sharon January 20, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    Must have been the sheep’s fault!

  2. 2 Anita Menon January 21, 2014 at 3:49 am

    Sounds delicious! I would totally try it risking BO and all the other digestion related undesirable effects. Fyi, I am married and I would still go for this and feed my family too. I think singles and married don’t have a problem. It is the ‘in-betweens’ that may have a problem :-)

  3. 3 Anita Menon January 21, 2014 at 3:51 am

    and oh.. that ‘fyi’ was because I am work and still in my professional mode. At home, I would have used ‘ by the by’

  4. 4 chef mimi January 21, 2014 at 8:25 am

    Wow! That is a lot of garlic! But the tart looks fabulous!

  5. 5 Lauren January 21, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    Thanks all! Sooo much garlic.

  6. 6 aslansfriend January 28, 2014 at 10:51 am

    Lol. This made me laugh. Tooooo garlic-y. It’s not so much that one is single or married , professional or casual, the abiding stratagem would be to indubitably and shrewdly pitch this savory, halitosis inducing viitle to everyone you will be breathing the same air in the ensuing 24 hours with. Win O:-)!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,948 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


