Pipe Dream #244: To Eschew Comparison – NYT Chocolate Chip Cookies

nyt cookies 3

nyt cookies 2

I had a friend once who was like, “Yeah, I like good espresso, but I like instant coffee just as much. It’s a totally different experience; they are like two different foods.”

I have since taken this philosophy and run with it, which is how I can justify liking Kraft mac and cheese just as much as homemade. This is also how I can love all types of pizza ever. Do I prefer deep dish to thin crust? No! Because it is a totally different experience. Each has its own set of pros and cons and intricate crevices of cheese-filled sensory experience.

nyt cookies 1

nyt cookies 5

The above picture actually slays me. LOOK.

I know the chill time on the dough is nearly intolerable (24-48 hours means an extended dose of delayed gratification, rarely an option when you are craving chocolate chip cookies). Also, the ingredient list for these babies is somewhat obscure (who uses bread flour on the reg?), but it makes for a cookie that is somewhat obscure. By which I mean that it is so far from your standard Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie, that it is like eating different foods. You can’t even compare them.

nyt cookies 4

So far from your standard Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie that it is like eating different foods, I say.

Five inches in diameter, with a gooey middle and shattering rim, these cookies are easily the most professional cookies I have ever baked. They are straight out of a bakery, secret-recipe style. I didn’t change one thing about them. Having waited this long and listening to other bloggers wax on for literal years, I wasn’t going to mess about making them imperfect.

nyt cookies 6

I gifted them away as soon as possible to the neighbs and also my dear friends. It was better that way.

Incomparably yours,

L

nyt kim

nyt jani

NYT Chocolate Chip Cookies

You can find the recipe here.

2 Responses to “Pipe Dream #244: To Eschew Comparison – NYT Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 Jani Lippert January 27, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    These were soo good! I miss you! Thanks for gifting them to me!

  2. 2 aslansfriend January 27, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    If English were not my original tongue, I would read your musings just to aquire contemporary “street“ English ;-).


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


