Pipe Dream #254: To Add Serving Sizes – Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Skillet Cookie

oatmeal pb skillet 4

Do you ever wonder why I rarely put serving sizes in my blog recipes? I must not really believe in them–have as big a slice as you want. Also, it is because things like this skillet cookie happen to me.  I eat 1/4 of the ingredients while making it, and then eat 1/3 of the finished product over the next two days, and by the end, I can’t tell how many people this should have served. I only know that it served one, but it probably should have served more.

oatmeal pb skillet 2

I cannot stress how dangerously good this cookie was.

I literally could not be trusted with this thing in the house.

And I even make a lot of cookie dough, so I know this one was over the top.

oatmeal pb skillet 3

The dark chocolate chips balanced the sweetness of the cookie nicely, but the really serious bit of this cookie was the peanut butter swirl. The swirls of peanutbuttery caramel goodness throughout are gratifyingly thick and not over-sweet, making it easy to indulge in slice after glorious slice.

oatmeal pb skillet 1

And then I served it warm to my work friends with ice cream, hot fudge and whipped cream. I’m sure you understand. And then I fretted over getting the stuff away from me. I’m sure you understand.

oatmeal skillet cake final

In an effort to rid myself of the swirls, I hastily shoved off the rest of it on my Bible study.

GOOD riddance,

L

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Skillet Cookie

Adapted from Savor Home

1/2 cup (1 stick/8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats (regular, not quick cooking)
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9-inch cast-iron skillet with cooking spray or brush it with melted butter. Set aside.

Add the melted butter, egg, sugar and vanilla to a large bowl and whisk for about 1 minute or until the batter is fluffed. Add the flour, salt and baking soda and stir with a spatula until just incorporated. Add the oats and stir until combined.

Press a little less than  3/4 of the batter into the skillet, pressing slightly up the sides. Reserve the remaining batter and set the skillet aside.

In a small bowl, whisk the sweetened condensed milk and peanut butter together until smooth. Pour the mixture over the dough in the skillet. Sprinkle the chocolate chips evenly over the top of the condensed milk mixture. Drop tablespoon-sized chunks of the reserved dough evenly over the chocolate chips in the skillet.

Bake for about 20 minutes or until the edges of the cookie are slightly crisp. The center of the cookie will be very gooey, but it will set as cools in the skillet. Serve warm with ice cream or let cool and slice into bars.

19 Responses to “Pipe Dream #254: To Add Serving Sizes – Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Skillet Cookie”


  1. 1 Bert March 5, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    This looks like something that I would love, but I would leave the choco chips out.

  2. 2 where do you find vanilla beans in a grocery store June 12, 2014 at 4:12 am

    constantly i used to read smaller articles that also clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which I
    am reading at this place.

  3. 3 best help stop snoring products June 30, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Examples of these are the nasal strips, nose sprays, and anti-snoring
    pills. If you prefer you can attach a tennis ball to
    your pyjamas. Probably the cheapest of all treatments, snoring is always to change the position of sleep.

  4. 4 Marquita September 9, 2014 at 11:39 pm

    Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded yolur blog in 3 different web browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thankos a lot, I appreciate it!

  5. 5 personal injury attorney mn September 11, 2014 at 1:30 am

    My brother suggested I may like this blog. He was totally right.
    This put up actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply
    how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  6. 6 Coral September 11, 2014 at 7:40 am

    Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?
    Appreciate it!

  7. 7 Probate Lawyer Fee September 11, 2014 at 11:54 am

    I do not drop a comment, however after reading a few of the comments on this page Pipe Dream #254: To Add Serving Sizes
    – Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Skillet Cookie |
    piping dreams. I actually do have a couple of questions for you if
    it’s okay. Is it only me or does it look as if like some of these remarks
    look as if they are coming from brain dead people?
    :-P And, if you are posting at additional social sites, I
    would like to follow you. Could you post a list of all of your public
    pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or
    twitter feed?

  8. 8 Http://Www.Instructables.com/ September 11, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    I got this site from my friend who shared with me on the
    topic of this website and now this time I am browsing this web page and reading
    very informative content here.

  9. 9 Simply Garcinia September 12, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful info specifically the closing section :
    ) I take care of such information much. I was seeking this particular information for a very lengthy time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  10. 10 clickbank best selling products September 22, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    great points altogether, you simply won a brand new
    reader. What would you suggest in regards to your put up
    that you made a few days in the past? Any sure?

  11. 11 http://www.topecoconstruction.co.uk/hello-world/ September 24, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    If you desire to take a great deal from this paragraph then you have
    to apply these methods to your won web site.

  12. 12 Sherburne county divorce lawyers September 27, 2014 at 4:39 am

    I love what you guys aare usually uup too. This sort of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve included you guys to
    my own blogroll.

  13. 13 forskolin December 26, 2014 at 9:02 pm

    It’s very trouble-free to find out any matter on net as compared to textbooks,
    as I found this paragraph at this web site.

  14. 14 MelisadiX April 9, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Всем Привет!!!
    Халява, беспланое занятие по “Танец на шесте” как для мужчин так и для женщин.
    Квалифицированные тренеры (мастера спорта), шикарный зал, удобная парковка для автомобилистов и шаговая доступность от метро для пешеходов.
    Приходите на бесплатное занятие , ничего не потеряете. Только приобретете ))) http://poledance.land
    Звоните и записывайтесь +7(926)530-82-48


  1. 1 Original Trigger Trackback on September 8, 2014 at 7:06 pm
  2. 2 Parents magazine Trackback on September 10, 2014 at 3:18 am
  3. 3 Probate Lawyer Riverside Ca Trackback on September 10, 2014 at 2:01 pm
  4. 4 dust barriers Trackback on September 19, 2014 at 11:37 pm
  5. 5 child custody laws Trackback on September 20, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,949 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


