Pipe Dream #276: To Be Chunkless – Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

banana muffins 2

Tip of the day: The key to banana bakes is to use really brown bananas, mashed up fine like…you know–no chunks. Like, the bananas that are no longer peel-able. Better yet, bananas that have been frozen and revived in a microwave. Because bananas can be used as a sort-of replacement for oil and even sugar in recipes, having a smooth puree is key. Until I figured out chunklessness, my banana bread suffered.

This banana bread recipe was passed along by my roommate, pictured below looking like a hot model. She makes it, like, every week, and it is so good that obv I had to try it for myself.

I have a gripe with the original recipe, as it doesn’t specify how to mix in the ingredients. I read it, and was like, “When do I add the butter?” Every muffin recipe with butter I know says to cream the butter and sugar, add the wet ingredients, then mix in the dry. But this one just said to mix the dry and chuck in the wet, so I tried throwing  in the softened butter to the wet ingredients. It left chunks, so next time I’m going to try creaming the butter into the flour mixture first, then adding the wet ingredients. I should really just ask my roomie how she does it.

How do you do it?

autumn

Further thoughts, these regarding chocolate: My dream for these was that each would have a huge pocket of chocolate erupting from the middle. I saw this recipe for banana bread a while back that had a massive sunken fudge ripple down the center. It was so beautiful, and if I had a Pinterest account, I would have immediately pinned it. Because I don’t, I can’ find the recipe now, so I tried to recreate as best I could.

banana muffins 3

Unfortunately, I scorched the chocolate a little because I wasn’t watching carefully enough, so I think it turned out a little dry on the actual cupcake. So I turned to the best failsafe mechanism this world has to offer a baker–peanut butter. Because let’s be real: What situation isn’t remedied by a peanut butter glaze? I challenge you to think of one. I thought about it for approximately 10 seconds and couldn’t come up with anything.

banana muffins 1

Chunkless in Seattle,

L

Banana Muffins with Chocolate Center and Peanut Butter Glaze

Adapted from Chiquitamoms.com

3 small bananas, mashed

1 1/2 cups flour

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 egg

1/2 cup (4 tablespoons) butter, very soft

1/4 cup milk

For the chocolate center:

heaping 1/2 cup semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips

1/2 tablespoon butter

For the peanut butter glaze:

2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter

1/4-1/2 cup powdered sugar

milk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.

Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Beat in the butter, egg, milk and mashed banana until just combined. Divide batter between the muffin cups.

Melt the chocolate chips and butter in a glass bowl in the microwave, being careful not to scorch the chocolate. I recommend stirring every 15 seconds or so. Drop even dollops of the chocolate mixture onto the center of each muffin cup.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Remove from tin and let cool. When cool (or almost cool), soften the peanut butter for a few seconds in the microwave, then mix in the powdered sugar and milk to make a glaze. Spoon onto the muffins.

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together. Mash 3 ripe bananas. Mix in mashed bananas, egg, butter and milk to the dry ingredients until smooth. Don’t over mix. Stir in chocolate chips. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown. – See more at: http://www.chiquitamoms.com/2012/11/chocolate-chip-chiquita-banana-muffins/#sthash.r4whXjS9.dpu
3 Ripe Chiquita Bananas 1 1/2 Cup Flour 2/3 Cup Sugar 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda 1 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder 1/4 Tsp Salt 1 Tsp Cinnamon 1 Egg 1/2 Cup Butter 1/4 Cup Milk (or Almond Milk, Goat Milk, etc.) 1 Cup Semi-Sweet Mini Chocolate Chips – See more at: http://www.chiquitamoms.com/2012/11/chocolate-chip-chiquita-banana-muffins/#sthash.r4whXjS9
3 Responses to “Pipe Dream #276: To Be Chunkless – Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Muffins”


  1. 1 Steven Macks June 16, 2014 at 9:55 am

    Do you ever pass your bananas (or purees in general) through a sieve?

  2. 2 Lauren June 16, 2014 at 10:14 am

    Usually I’m too lazy, but I did make a blackberry puree this weekend that I sieved.


  1. 1 Pipe Dream #279: To Chop ‘Em Off – Sparkler Vehicles | piping dreams Trackback on July 1, 2014 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


