Pipe Dream #287: To Be Your Everyday Average – Peach Crisp Cheesecake Bars

cheesecake bars 3

In this second edition of “I didn’t make any fruit crisps this summer, but here’s what I did make,” I present to you: Peach Crisp Cheesecake Bars.

First of all, there is still time for me to make a fruit crisp. It’s August. It could happen. I luf them so.

Second of all, in honor of this occasion, I would like to bring up the best peach dessert, and possibly the best dessert I have ever made: Peach Cobbler + Maple Bourbon Cream Sauce. I actually can’t even bear to think about that right now, as I’m behind a computer and don’t currently possess any peaches. Go forth and make it.

Or these bars.

cheesecake bars 2

I used white peaches for interest.

Ok, so they are not that interesting.

Ok, so this scenario: you’re chatting with someone, and they ask you what you do or where you grew up or some average question, and you tell them (or even worse, they didn’t ask, and you’re just telling them things), and then they say, “Interesting.”

Like, it’s just habit, but people pretend that the fact that you grew up in a suburb or that you spend two hours a day responding to emails is super fascinating. Just riveting.

That is a scenario that happens to me fairly often, possibly because I talk about myself too much or possibly because this is just how polite people exchange conversation. One time, I caught it and actually said out loud, “No, it’s actually not interesting,” and watched my new acquaintance’s face. This is not the way polite people exchange conversation, but it just struck me, and I couldn’t help it. Haha, I’m laughing even remembering that.

Anyway, I’m not blameless. I sometimes tell people they are interesting when they are not, but I try to be more creative and truthful with my responses now that I’ve noticed this tendency.

The white peaches were not so much different then yellow peaches. However, they were slightly more annoying because they weren’t free stone peaches, so I had to cut around the pit.

cheesecake bars 5

This is just your everyday average cheesecake batter.

cheesecake bars 4

And this is what normal looks like.

cheesecake bars 1

 

Sew average,

L

Peach Crisp Cheesecake Bars

An LH Original

For the cookie crust:

1 stick (8 tablespoons or 1/2 cup) butter

I cup light brown sugar, packed

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

3/4 cups quick oats

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 white peach, diced

For the cream cheese filling:

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and grease an 8 x 8 inch pan.

Beat together the butter and sugar until fluffy, then stir in the egg and vanilla until well-blended. Dump in the dry ingredients through the salt and stir until almost combined, then add the oats and chocolate chips, mixing until well-combined. Press 2/3 of the dough into the bottom of the pan and bake for 8 minutes. Reserve the other 1/3 of the dough.

Beat together the cream cheese and sugar until smooth, then beat in the egg and vanilla until combined. Pour over the baked cookie crust. Sprinkle the died peach evenly over the surface, then drop on the reserved cookie dough in clumps. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the top just starts to turn golden. Let cool, then slice into bars. Store in the refrigerator.

 

 

1 Response to “Pipe Dream #287: To Be Your Everyday Average – Peach Crisp Cheesecake Bars”



  1. 1 Stone fruits cometh roundup + IRL messy vanity | piping dreams Trackback on May 14, 2015 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


