Favorite Shots: The Rye Humor

IMG_0321

One intention of throwing a recent party: Make friends.

Secret other intention of throwing a recent party: Have an excuse to use some new low ball tumblers (which are my legit favorite for sew many reasons) and make up a drink for them.

Excuse me for a second while I freak out about these glasses and this drink by using trendy non-sentences:

This drink is everything. I can’t even. No. Stop.

IMG_0322

Thank you.

So, to business. This drink is essentially an Old Fashioned (whiskey/brandy, orange, sugar, bitters), except that I subbed in maple and grapefruit flavors to make it everything I love (rye, grapefruit, maple simple syrup, better bitters). I called it ‘Rye Humor’ because you know how I feel about wordplay.

The bitters were from Bittercube. Jamaican #2, which has tasting notes of grapefruit and hibiscus, so I thought it might complement the grapefruit twist. It did. The maple syrup might seem odd, but I promise it works. To make it, just combine two parts maple syrup to one part water, bring to a tiny simmer on the stove, then let cool.

IMG_0323

I also made SPHERE cubes. Ice cube pro trick that my roommate told me about: apparently, if you boil water before freezing it, it will freeze clear. Good to know. Everyone, please come back at midnight after I have boiled and frozen new ice cubes. They must be clear.

IMG_0325

Hi. P.S. I also made brown butter whiskey toasted walnut frosted blondies to pair with this which were the best blondies I’ve ever made, and I’m not going to blog them sry.

IMG_0324

Hi hi hi.

Everything, ever,

L

0 Responses to “Favorite Shots: The Rye Humor”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,946 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


