Pipe Dream #324: To Beg Forgiveness, Not Ask Permission – Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches

DSC_0031

I told my friend that I was going to try and not set myself up as the “office baker” at my new job. Keep expectations low and all that. And besides, there is probably already some lady with that title, and I don’t want to step on any toes. Heaven forbid I should step on anyone’s toes.

He was like, “Not going to happen.”

DSC_0004

And so I left off for as long as possible. I really did try. But then someone discovered my blog, and I started getting comments.

“We were salivating over your blog yesterday.”

“Wow, those Nutella rolls looked really incredible.”

Because I’m new, no one is going to outright bug me to bring something in. For all they know, I could be like, sensitive, and flip out if they make any demands and put them on a lifelong cake ban, and then where would they be? (Like I would ever flip out over ANYTHING EVER.)

But reading between the lines, those flattering comments could be translated to “When are we going to taste this IRL, Lauren??? Let us be your new taste testers immediately!!! Demands! Quality of life! Free food!” And so I tried to read the mood and cater to their unspoken demands. By which I mean, I just wanted to bring something in regardless of whether or not they wanted it, so I did.

DSC_0026

I brought in the softest, easiest, more irresistiblest little peanut butter cookie sandwiches. Hey, I don’t know my new colleagues either, and I thought it would be a good idea to ask forgiveness rather than permission if someone died of a peanut allergy. Get that question out of the way up front.

Also, I realized that I needn’t have worried about usurping someone else’s baking throne. The reality is, people love treats, and NO ONE will complain when they are stocked in the empty cube, regardless of their source.

Sandwiched,

Lauren

P.S. My co-workers are well cool and are really nice and do not manipulatively insinuate that I should feed them.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches

An LH Original

For the cookies:

1 cup smooth peanut butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

splash of vanilla or imitation maple flavoring

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 egg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with a Silpat or parchment.

Stir together all ingredients in a medium bowl until well combined. Scoop out tablespoon-sized balls onto baking sheet. Bake for 7-9 minutes until just set and edges are just starting to turn golden. Let cool on baking sheet.

For the frosting:

1 egg white

sugar

peanut butter

powdered sugar

Whip egg white with a hand mixer in a large bowl until foamy, beat in 1/4 cup of sugar, a tablespoon at a time, until a stiff meringue forms. Beat in 2 tablespoons softened butter and 3-4 tablespoons peanut butter, to taste. Beat in powdered sugar until desired consistency is reached. Spread between cooled cookies.

0 Responses to “Pipe Dream #324: To Beg Forgiveness, Not Ask Permission – Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,949 other followers

Lane Cake

Chocolate Clementine Marquise

Spicy Chai Biscotti

Red Wine Pear Trifles

Coconut Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peach Cobbler

Clementine Ginger Tequila Sunrise

S’mores Cake with Malted PB Frosting

Lemon Mousse Crepe Cake

Strawberry Shortcake

Nectarine Brown Butter Upside Down Cake

Raspberry Espresso Fudge Cake

Cherry Clafoutis

Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits

Banoffee Pie

Blueberry Bourbon Bread Pudding

Pink Sprinkle Cupcakes

Grapefruit Yogurt Loaf

No-Bake Nests

Butter Pecan Shortbread

Black Garlic Herb Bread

Pumpkin Chiffon Torte

Maple Pecan Brown Butter Cupcakes


